reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
13,038
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
I'm having an issue with setting up my optical sensor. I set it up on the inlet tab, I'm able to set the sensor up in the ATO section, assign it to an outlet and save the setting for it. Then regardless of the sensor being in or out of water it turns the outlet on and wont shut off even after the sensor is re submerged in water.

I ran: cat /sys/class/gpio/gpio17/value and it says 0 even when the equipment tab shows the #2 outlet to be on. I also get an error message {"error":"stats for id: '2' not found"} | HTTP 404

I thought maybe it was a problem with the circuit so I pulled everything apart and set the same circuit up on a bread board and got the same results.
I'm running reef pi version 2.0.0-rc2 on a pi-3
That stats not found error is expected soon after you create an ato, it should go away within a minute, when the first check is done.
Can you post a photo of your circuit? and a screenshot of your ato page
 

Erica-Renee

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
1,595
Reaction score
3,268
Location
lost
Are you talking about the data pin and hot pin on the sensor board or on the pi board?
There are two wires one is a Ground the other is the hot/data pin.. a standard mechanical float switch (not a sensor like you have) Does it open or close the Circuit .. Does this make more sense.. Its just a standard on and off switch..
 

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
1,902
Location
Cleveland Ohio
Here's the circuit.
The error message comes up every time the sensor tries to take a reading I have it set for every 10 seconds.

IMG_4302.JPG


ATO page.

IMG_4388.JPG


IMG_4392.JPG


IMG_4393.JPG


IMG_4391.JPG
 

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
1,902
Location
Cleveland Ohio
There are two wires one is a Ground the other is the hot/data pin.. a standard mechanical float switch (not a sensor like you have) Does it open or close the Circuit .. Does this make more sense.. Its just a standard on and off switch..
I did this and ended up with the same result.
 

Erica-Renee

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
1,595
Reaction score
3,268
Location
lost
I did this and ended up with the same result.
Are you using Resistors in your Circuit..
Here is the example i used to wire mine. I think your missing the resisters unless they are on the back side of your hat .
flat switch wiring.jpg


In your dashboard configuration under ato you have nothing selected. this will cause this error.. removing the ato from the dashboard totally and check the ato sensor in the ato tab.
It will take a few min for it to start working..
 
Last edited:
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
13,038
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Hello everyone.. I wanted to start with saying amazing job on Reef-Pi. I dont have mine up and running the tank yet but it should be soon. I also have a few questions I'm going to have 3 temp probes do I just select any pin I'm not using for my other two probes or are there certain pins I need to use? Also hows the PH probe going? I have not seen anything on how to hook it up. Sorry when it comes to the programming side of things I'm not very savvy. So understanding how the tech end of things work I'm lost, and trying to learn as much as I can. Thank you.
Attached a pic of my Reef-pi in progress.

15413747476911403662236170194338.jpg
beautiful, thank you for giving reef-pi a shot :-0) . Welcome to reef2reef. Temperature sensors all share a common wire, GPIO 4. Irrespective of how many you use, it's called one wire bus.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
13,038
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
beautiful, thank you for giving reef-pi a shot :-0) . Welcome to reef2reef. Temperature sensors all share a common wire, GPIO 4. Irrespective of how many you use, it's called one wire bus.
I am in process of finishing up the pH monitor build. It will be published next week hopefully, Its been for few months now, but I never got to document the build guide.
 

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
1,902
Location
Cleveland Ohio
Are you using Resistors in your Circuit..
Here is the example i used to wire mine. I think your missing the resisters unless they are on the back side of your hat .
flat switch wiring.jpg


In your dashboard configuration under ato you have nothing selected. this will cause this error.. removing the ato from the dashboard totally and check the ato sensor in the ato tab.
It will take a few min for it to start working..
No resistors on the pi hat the optical sensor has a 3 pin connection that goes to a break out board with 4 wires going to the sensor.

IMG_4315.JPG


IMG_4312.JPG
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Nicolas Sabrun

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
190
Reaction score
88
Location
Petaluma CA
My 125g tank was setup with RKE controller and several modules. I have been trying to source a new head unit but I was not successful since the company went out of business.

Would it be possible to be a reef-pi controller that would reuse some of the RKE module such PB4 power bar, ALC light control...?

Thank you
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
13,038
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Here's the circuit.
The error message comes up every time the sensor tries to take a reading I have it set for every 10 seconds.

IMG_4302.JPG


ATO page.

IMG_4388.JPG


IMG_4392.JPG


IMG_4393.JPG


IMG_4391.JPG
Your circuit and configuration looks correct for photo electric sensor. Are you using float switch ?
 

Dave's Reef

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
34
Reaction score
76
I am in process of finishing up the pH monitor build. It will be published next week hopefully, Its been for few months now, but I never got to document the build guide.
Thank you for the help on the temps and also on the ph I'll be keeping an eye out for it. I haven't ordered the PH probe yet but I want all my jack for everything installed before I mount the box. Thanks again.. and amazing job.
 

pickupman66

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
5,893
Reaction score
1,133
Location
Winchester, TN
My 125g tank was setup with RKE controller and several modules. I have been trying to source a new head unit but I was not successful since the company went out of business.

Would it be possible to be a reef-pi controller that would reuse some of the RKE module such PB4 power bar, ALC light control...?

Thank you
No go on the old rke equipment. I'd love to as I have 4x of the pc4 and all the other goodies.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
13,038
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
No resistors on the pi hat the optical sensor has a 3 pin connection that goes to a break out board with 4 wires going to the sensor.

IMG_4315.JPG


IMG_4312.JPG
your circuit looks fine to me. If you probe the three pin (5v, GND and GPIO 17) on the male header jumper, do you get expected reading, particularly when you put the sensor in and out of water?
 

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
1,902
Location
Cleveland Ohio
Like I said in an earlier post I constructed the circuit on a bread board and hooked that up to the pi without the hat on and got the same result.
 

Diamond1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
1,902
Location
Cleveland Ohio
Ok I just rebooted the pi put the sensor in the water and it shut the relay for the pump off pulled it out and the pump turned on, but I still have nothing for the ato on the dashboard. I refresh the page and get the error message
and the column where the ATO is supposed to be is blank.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

How are you accomplishing water flow in your reef tank?

  • Powerhead Type Pumps

    Votes: 388 67.0%
  • Closed Loop

    Votes: 20 3.5%
  • Return Pump

    Votes: 323 55.8%
  • Wavemaker

    Votes: 219 37.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 2.6%

Online statistics

Members online
1,950
Guests online
4,731
Total visitors
6,681
CWT Aquatics - Acrylic Sumps, Tanks, and More!
Top