reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

Michael Lane

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
352
Reaction score
632
I have built the doser found Here and was wondering how I would expand it to monitor temperature and pH? I originally built it to be a standalone but with support for the wifi power strips coming I feel like I could just add the probes and then use the power strips instead of building a relay. @Ranjib
You have the right idea. You can expand your doser build to include temperature by following the temperature guide.
 
Corals.com
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
@Ranjib I have been running 2.2 for a long time now. I just upgraded to 2.5 and now my LEDs will not dim all the way to off. I then installed 2.4 and still could not dim to off. I installed 2.3 and this time i could dim to off.
Im using a PCA9685. Is there any change from 2.3 to 2.4 that you think would be causing this?
There was some really bad bug that was introduced in 2.1 and later , I fixed some of it , the on /off special case is still not fixed. I ll be fixing it before 3.0.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
I have built the doser found Here and was wondering how I would expand it to monitor temperature and pH? I originally built it to be a standalone but with support for the wifi power strips coming I feel like I could just add the probes and then use the power strips instead of building a relay. @Ranjib
I am using ato like this. It’s been working for two weeks now. But I am still concerned about connection related issues . In case of doser though , I think it’s safer
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
This is my reef-pi 3.0 pico tank. Ato uses WiFi outlet driver peristaltic pump
96CA6C24-5E43-4451-B55D-25B981C1C4EC.jpeg


It’s funny :) , the 2.0 controller is right next to it :) and controls the 3.0 controller. I am still conflicted whether I should get rid of the 2.0 completely or keep it or consume it’s functionlity (adj powerstrip control ) in 3.0
 
Corals.com

PHopkins

Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
Is there any way in the Reef Pi software, in lights, to change the intervals in auto to 1 Hour intervals instead of 2 hour? It would be nice to ramp down between 8pm and 9pm vs 8 to 10
 

L0stmykeys

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
82
I agree with PHopkins on that expand it to even maybe pull from to table would be awesome i was watching brs macna 2019 on my drive home today and they discussed alot about seasons and how apex handles them..... seems like in our case instead of fixed increments an ability to ramp up and down with some seasonal changes would be ideal?

on a side note i now have 3 philzon black boxes working on a PCA9685 along with 1 lux bird black box flawlessly!!!!

head up on the luxbird slightly different from my philzons they are 0-10v but the luxbird is 0-3.3v i used the max line in the settings at 65 which gave me a reading for 3.2v am i correct for doing that? is there any adverse issues im not seeing?
 

Michael Lane

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
352
Reaction score
632
From what I understand, PR802 might provide the functionality to define arbitrary times for the lights. I don't think it's exposed via the API or UI yet, but I'm looking forward to that feature, so I'm pretty sure it will get in the 3.0 release.
 

kapnkush608

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
466
Reaction score
884
Location
lamesville
I am using ato like this. It’s been working for two weeks now. But I am still concerned about connection related issues . In case of doser though , I think it’s safer
Thank you for your response, to clarify a little I already built the doser in the adafruit guide. I was wondering where to add the temperature and pH circuits to my existing perma-proto hat.
IMG_20190316_012757.jpg
IMG_20190316_160035.jpg
IMG_20190912_230638.jpg
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Thank you for your response, to clarify a little I already built the doser in the adafruit guide. I was wondering where to add the temperature and pH circuits to my existing perma-proto hat.
IMG_20190316_012757.jpg
IMG_20190316_160035.jpg
IMG_20190912_230638.jpg
follow the temperature controller guide to use GPIO 4 for temperature sensor. I think you have enough space in the hat to solder the 4.7K resistor, if not, solder it against the female audio jack (connector) and just solder the male header pins on the perma proto board. For pH you need two i2c pins (sda. scl), 5v and GND. Same like temp sensor, just solder male header pins on those locations and then use female-female jumper cable to connect the ph board with the hat. Start a thread if you need further assistance. It will be easier to track that way
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Is there any way in the Reef Pi software, in lights, to change the intervals in auto to 1 Hour intervals instead of 2 hour? It would be nice to ramp down between 8pm and 9pm vs 8 to 10
Not currently . 3.0 will let you do this.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
I agree with PHopkins on that expand it to even maybe pull from to table would be awesome i was watching brs macna 2019 on my drive home today and they discussed alot about seasons and how apex handles them..... seems like in our case instead of fixed increments an ability to ramp up and down with some seasonal changes would be ideal?

on a side note i now have 3 philzon black boxes working on a PCA9685 along with 1 lux bird black box flawlessly!!!!

head up on the luxbird slightly different from my philzons they are 0-10v but the luxbird is 0-3.3v i used the max line in the settings at 65 which gave me a reading for 3.2v am i correct for doing that? is there any adverse issues im not seeing?
With 3.0 release I’m trying to do lunar cycle etc. I don’t know total how many modes we may have, but at least once the basic pieces are there we can keep adding new profile types incrementally .
I have no clue about the lights :-(, never used them.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
12,723
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Some pics from biocube 29.
Ricordia is gorgeous as usual ,
AE9E4CCA-1D1D-4E9E-AF79-AA01828D435D.jpeg


Blondes are multiplying slowly at the back. So is bubble algae
3D3B0922-D2DD-496C-A238-2EBC108EF803.jpeg


Red dragon is growing in full glory . I am relieved that I’ll have ample frags for testing the pico with reef-pi 3.
1803F9BC-9D64-49E9-9DAE-2E731638BAC6.jpeg


There’s this no name acro that can grow lesser light and flow , I plan to start testing with these or some green slimer frags .
0DB23EA4-D8D3-4565-BE09-9E6EC8CC6B4E.jpeg
 
https://www.omegasea.net/

Trodrigues

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
That would be right if I bought a single board, but no one actually does that :). PCBs can be had at stupidly low prices these days, so the PCB in about 10-20 volume is around $5. The board is very low tech comparatively (6/6 traces, 2 layer, etc). This doesn't count parts (ballpark $20-45, depending on pH or other bells and whistles in single board quantities - pricing gets much better even if you go to Qty 20-50) assembly - I'll post the details of that in a bit. I usually do very-low volume assembly in house, and have used a few contract manufacturers in the past.
 

brandon clow

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
86
Reaction score
88
Anyone run into issues with Etcher killing SD cards? Pulled my ASUS Tinker Boards out last night to setup some mini servers to host a database that I'm going to try to tie in to my application and when I went to boot them it seemed that the previously flashed SD cards had somehow got boot sector errors. Went and reflashed them with Etcher with their latest Tinker OS Debian release and ended up getting consistent flash failures. Tried another SD with the same error. Also, ran into an issue where the micro SD would get into a 'locked' state even though I was using a USB adapter to flash them rather than an SD card adapter that contains the silly little lock toggle. Solution to that was to move from one USB port to another, though the flashing process seemed to have messed with the SD cards state. These micro SD's are maybe over a year old and were stored in the Tinker Boards that I had stored in ESD bags when they were not in use.

Thoughts on issues?
I am currently having an issue with the 1.5.56 build doing buster or even older builds. It instantly fails or says multiple images are corrupt, even known working images I have. Bought a two pack of new cards to make sure it wasn't due to some old cards I was using with no resolve. I ended up using an alternative with success.
 

L0stmykeys

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
82
just for a reference for others trying to do the black box method everything seems to be fine with mine so far philzon boxes have been up and running with reefpi since the end of june and the luxbird is on day 2 everything working as it should as far as i can tell. Only thing different was the max setting within reefpi being set to 65 percent instead of the 100 i used for the philzon but this was because they required 3.3v for 100 percent simple wiring for these 2 units for anyone that is considering it simple add the PCA9685 and cut the ground and pwm line in the light and your rolling!
 

sfgabe

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
103
Reaction score
180
I am currently having an issue with the 1.5.56 build doing buster or even older builds. It instantly fails or says multiple images are corrupt, even known working images I have. Bought a two pack of new cards to make sure it wasn't due to some old cards I was using with no resolve. I ended up using an alternative with success.
I'm also having a problem on Buster (mine is with 3.0) on a Pi Zero build. It's a clean install and I've tried 2 cards. Both have worked ok, am able to setup config etc, but then it get into a cycle where it works for 5 minutes to an hour or two (random) and then reboots. No errors that I can see in the logs. I'm trying to troubleshoot but reading through some of the forums, it seems like Buster is not particularly stable, especially on older / smaller pi's. I'm going to downgrade this weekend and see if that fixes it.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Will you be participating in Secret Santa 2019?

  • Yep! Count me in! (Be sure to register in the thread)

    Votes: 120 68.6%
  • Not this year

    Votes: 46 26.3%
  • I hope to, but I'm not located in the USA (Please be sure to PM Santa Claus about this issue)

    Votes: 9 5.1%

Online statistics

Members online
2,065
Guests online
4,417
Total visitors
6,482
The WaveEngine is Available November 12th!
Top