Saltwater noob

AshyLarry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey r2r gang, my name is Ashy Larry and I'm a complete noob to the whole aquarium thing. I decided I want to get into the hobby and I'm kinda feeling way over my head in information lol. I've watched countless videos and done tons of reading but still have no idea on where to start. I guess basics would be tank, stand, rock and sand would be the start (and water of course) I'm on the fence between a 150 and 200 gallon tank as my first tank. What I can't seem to find is what would be ideal equipment for a setup of this size? I would rather spend the money once on the major equipment than to continue to upgrade on down the line. This does not mean I want to spend 20k on initial setup haha. But I would say an overall 8k I feel comfortable spending. Not sure if that's high or low.

Also any pros and cons on going used on initial stuff like tank, and stand? My goals are to have a beautiful tank filled with a variety of corals. The tank will be going into the living room of a new construction house. So I am able to add additional electrical in the wall near the tank. I was thinking of two 20 amp circuits with 4 receptacles in each circuit. Would that be enough? Also anything else that I can during the construction phase to make life easier down the road. Ideally I would like this to last me well over 10+ years. I'm sure equipment will fail and my goals may change during the time of having my tank. But I want to make the most informed decisions on this new hobby as possible

School me r2r, someone perhaps take me under their wing haha. I need all the help I can get before I commit and spend a ton of money and face regret of not doing something right

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
116B7615-B4CB-4D80-909F-D2603F9BABEF.gif

bnord

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0