Something eating my sand sifting star??

Perpetual Novice

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a friend setting up a 20 gallon tank. It was cycling with just snails and hermits for months. Then two days ago he added a couple clowns and a sand sifting star. Today he sent me this. What happened. It’s not totally dead year but I think he should throw it out now. Right?

F5485C2A-9C00-4C6E-AF57-4C2775D6A9B5.jpeg

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no starfish expert but they will grow back limbs. No clue what happened to it though. Don't some stars tear themselves when stressed or to propagate? Following to learn.

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it starving because the substrate is too coarse and/or not enough to food? Not sure a sand sifting star is recommend in a small tank.

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I see an urchin that seems to have lost it's spines in the background of that pic as well and the star is sitting on a dead coral skeleton. How old is this tank? We need specific parameters, but the visuals are not good at all.

OP
OP
Perpetual Novice

Perpetual Novice

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I see an urchin that seems to have lost it's spines in the background of that pic as well and the star is sitting on a dead coral skeleton. How old is this tank? We need specific parameters, but the visuals are not good at all.

I agree. I asked about the urchin and he assured me that it still moves around and has many translucent feet extended. The dead coral is rubble he added for “texture”

in asking him for more information I don’t think he took many precautions to keep the starfish from being exposed to air during acclimation. He drop acclimated for 30 minutes but then lifted the starfish into the air to put it in. Could that be the cause?