sump plumbing advice

reefer_madness69420

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently purchased a Fijicube 108g EXT aquarium and it is my first time plumbing an aquarium. The attached image has their recommended plumbing layout. I was thinking of adding unions and ball valves at the indicated positions. can y'all give some input on their proposed layout and the additions I'm thinking of? My feeling is that there are a lot of 90 degree turns but I'm not sure how much that matters and I reckon it is probably harder to plumb with 45 degree elbows.

Screen Shot 2023-12-15 at 12.18.20 PM.png

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently purchased a Fijicube 108g EXT aquarium and it is my first time plumbing an aquarium. The attached image has their recommended plumbing layout. I was thinking of adding unions and ball valves at the indicated positions. can y'all give some input on their proposed layout and the additions I'm thinking of? My feeling is that there are a lot of 90 degree turns but I'm not sure how much that matters and I reckon it is probably harder to plumb with 45 degree elbows.

Screen Shot 2023-12-15 at 12.18.20 PM.png
The diagram already has unions and a valve...

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looking at it, I'm honestly not sure why they have so many unions... Lol.

The purpose of a union is to make it possible to disassemble the plumbing if needed.

The 90 degree turns are not a problem.

The only place you want a valve (gate, not ball) is on the main (full siphon) drain.

(Unions marked blue lines, gate valve circled)
Screenshot_20231215-214453~2.png

00W

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, inside the stand. I know there were already unions in the schematic, but I was wondering if alternate positions would make disassembly easier if necessary. Thanks.
Yes.