The bar tank!

Tans Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It’s finally going down.. my.. sorta dream build. I acquired a 120 gallon tank back in 2011. Complete with stand, canopy, sump and some radion gen 1’s. Got it home and decided.. I didn’t wanna use the stand.. or the lights.. or the sump lol.. I just for some odd reason absolutely love the footprint of a 120.. Something bothered me though.. I didn’t want to put another tank against a wall only being able to see it from the front or the sides... I wanted a peninsula!! Well we looked online for stands that would accommodate my transition of this tank and for the most part couldn’t find anything that screamed let’s get it! My buddy Brian is a carpenter by trade so he was game to try and make something happen! We tossed around ideas for weeks.. even months.. one day we were sitting down having a beer when it dawn on me.. jokingly I said “ hey man, what if we made a fish tank.. bar”? I immediately laughed.. but this guy had the vision of what would be in his eyes! He walked outside grabbed some paper and drew up a sketch.. without hesitation we shot out the next day to grab lumber and built a base... I started gathering equipment.. and branching off more and more ideas, when Brian suddenly got a promotion at work and we had to stop working on the stand for a while..
During this stretch of getting no where with the stand.. I went thru some crazy nonsense with my other setups being destroyed by some idiot. (rather not stretch into that again.. if you wanna know what happened check out my thread in the welcoming section)
That put me in a world of depression and I hated the site of the tanks.. hated the thought of it.. so the stand became a table or close rack or pretty much whatever we needed it for over the years.. my other tanks came down except for my 110 gallon which housed my remaining fish and carpet nem..