The last resort: Dino X

cabezatuck

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been battling Dinos for about 9 months in two reef tanks: 13.5 gallon LPS 2 years old and 40 gallon mixed 1 year old. In the 13.5 just prior to the outbreak I had used Vibrant which I believe crashed my nutrient levels after rocking my barely established bio filter and eliminating the small amounts of nuisance bubble and GHA I had. I should have stuck to scraping and siphoning but had heard other claims about the benefits of using Vibrant so I gave it a try. The 40 had low nutrients with a lack of competing algae, being newer with limited livestock. I personally believe Vibrant should only be used in well established older tanks with a diverse bio filter.

With the stage set the Dinos were introduced from my local LFS, I had observed some in their frag tank but assumed it was GHA I could scrape off and then dip. This was prior to my outbreak and nightly internet searches of “getting rid of Dinos in a reef tank, Dinos, Dinos, Dinos…” so I knew absolutely nothing about them. That said there is so much conflicting information online about eliminating these, largely due I believe to the variety of Dinos people deal with and for which they discover successful treatments as well as cases of misidentification.