0   0   0
Post #43 for the latest pics

Latest Post Rockwork Redo Video - 04 Dec 2022

Pre Rockwork Redo Video - 3/27/22

FTS March 27th 2022
BA2C33F8-8A5D-43B8-A05C-62E00EEBC97C.jpeg

664CDAA0-696C-4810-98B4-333CECA0B0CC.jpeg

Hello all,

Since it seems to be the cool thing to do, I figured I’d start my own build thread. I’m new to reefing, and maybe you all will enjoy coming along for the ride. Hopefully someday in the far flung future, this tank becomes an epic one - let’s see if we can get there.

Let’s start with some goals first. My basement is a mancave. It has this strange half height wall at the bottom of the stairs to the left of the television area. It’s fairly non functional, but it would make a good spot for a peninsula tank.

Here’s a couple of shots of that spot.

F6D4B359-0649-41ED-A97D-91A4CE1686BA.jpeg

3B584D16-099E-48C0-9D62-28271365D327.jpeg

A 20 gallon is narrow enough to fit on that wall, so I decided on the IM Nuvo 20 peninsula. I’ll have a nice view from three sides, and the AIO works well since there’s no place underneath for gear. I’m shooting for nice and clean and compact.

Rounding the equipment out for the initial setup:
2 AI prime 16hd lights
2 AI prime flex arms 12 in
Tunze 3155 ATO
Trigger systems 5gal ATO reservoir
Vortech mp10wqd
Cobalt 100W heater
IM nano skimmer
15lbs of reefsaver rock
20lbs of Fijipink caribsea sand
Media basket
HW salt mix
Aquatic life RODI 75gpd
GFCI breaker extension and power strip

I’m also NOT looking for a fish room, full of brute trashcans, waste sinks, and clutter. The goal here is a small nano tank that doesn’t require renovations to the house. I know a lot of people upgrade to bigger tanks down the road, but as of now - I’m pretty sold on staying small. That philosophy drove the aquatic life RODI purchase, and I’m planning on using nothing more than a couple of 5 gallon buckets that can be tucked away in the nearby bathroom closet.

Here are my buckets and salt in their closet.