Thought I had Ich... Now I’m not sure.

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About 3 weeks ago I noticed a few very small white spots on my Kole Tang. It was also flashing and scraping on the sand and rocks. Sometimes I can see very small spots and other times I can’t. Over the last week my royal gramma is now showing small white spots and flashing/scraping. The Gramma is also looking a little pale with rough fins. The tang looks occasionally pale and today was swimming into the powerhead. The spots are very small and do not look like the ich pictures I have seen. If it is velvet it sounds like they should have been dead 3 weeks ago. I’ll post a few pictures but they are very camera shy. I’m thinking I should quarantine and treat with copper but I would like to know what I am dealing with. This is my first time attempting to treat a disease outside of quarantine.

OP
OP
kswan

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A80EBFC5-E699-4FE6-85C8-3A04892487F2.jpeg
EC018A2E-277A-447F-9D55-A03E188DC1CB.jpeg

OP
OP
kswan

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most of the white spots are particulate in the water. I’m not really seeing any spots today. I should also mention that all fish went through TTM but I haven’t quarantined inverts or corals. I traded someone local a few months ago which I believe must have been the carrier. Nothing else has changed since winter.

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a Kole who very occasionally swims into a powerhead. For about 2 seconds. In an attempt to eat algae off of it.

I am more suspect of flukes here with your description. Likely not velvet if it's been going on for a few weeks.

How big is DT?

Can you trap your Kole and do a 5min FW dip? See if flukes come off?

OP
OP
kswan

kswan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0