Treating STN - Lugol's vs. ChemiClean

KK's Reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Apologies if this is in the wrong forum. I have a maricultured acro colony that is going through a very slow STN. Asking what would be a better method in trying to stop the STN.

1). A regimen of dips using Lugol's? (10 minute dip every few days). I was planning on using the Brightwell brand iodine, along with their Restor for the dip.

2). Using Chemiclean as a dip? (following the recommended directions using a QT tank vs. doubling the dosage and dipping the coral instead)

I am a rookie when it comes to treating corals. Open to suggestions and thanks in advance.

Yes, I know I can frag it, but that would be the last resort.

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I saw a video where it was claimed Chemiclean stopped STN. It contains erythromycin, so I'm hoping to stop whatever bacterial infection the coral is having.

The rest of the tank is happy. The other acros are happy.
If the coral is slowly dying then it never hurts to try possible remedies.

Hurricane Aquatics

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Why try a remedy when you don't really know the cause? What are your parameters and have they been stable? Any recent chabges or issues?

STN is most likely from something the Acro isn't liking. Lighting, flow, nutrients, etc.

OP
OP
K

KK's Reef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Why try a remedy when you don't really know the cause? What are your parameters and have they been stable? Any recent chabges or issues?

STN is most likely from something the Acro isn't liking. Lighting, flow, nutrients, etc.

Parameters are stable. Tank is 3 years old. All other acros are fine and growing. Plenty of flow. I dose phyto every other day.

Salinity: 34-35 ppt
Alkalinity: 8.0 - 8.4
Nitrate: I don't test
Calcium: 420
Phosphate: .08 - .12
Temp: 78-79