Using ground probes in aquariums

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by Brew12, Oct 20, 2016.

  1. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    If I have no available outlet can I make a ground with a copper rod to attach the probe too?

    My situation is two ebb8 in regular outlet, no gfci.
     

  2. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Its largely a matter of opinion. I haven't seen any research done on electricity in aquariums. I run with a ground probe and GFCI's. I have seen some connections made between HTTLE in fish and sliming in corals. I don't think this matters if it is fault current or induced so the only way to get rid of it is with a ground probe. Its also possible for damaged electrical equipment to leach copper and toxins into the water which I also worry about. Having it trip on GFCI is the fastest way to know you have an issue so you can respond.

    Of course, the flip side is that if a GFCI trips while you are gone for a few days, and you don't have redundancy, no flow and heat will take out coral and fish too.
     
    Cory likes this.
  3. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    That would be a lot of work. If you don't have a free outlet for your GFCI on your EB8's can you run an extension cord from another outlet to plug your probe into? You could also use a splitter at the wall outlet to add a receptacle.
     
  4. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado

    Neither is an option as I rent and the next outlet has the CO alarm in it. If I bought a 6’ copper rod 5/8”can I connect the probe to it as it’s own ground? A 6’copper rod could be concealed behind the tank at least.
     
  5. Paleozoic_reefer

    Paleozoic_reefer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    El Paso TX
    This is a great discussion!!
    So I’m running two power strips on two separate outlets (non-GFCI) and no probe. So now I’m going to Lowe’s to get two GFCI adaptors and a titanium grounding probe. So my question is: can I install the GFCI adaptors and simply plug the powerstips into the same outlet as before or do I plug them directly into the GFCI adaptor? Also would I plug the grounding probe into the outlets or could I plug it into one of the powerstips??
     
  6. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    I was told not to plug ground probe into the power strip.
     
    Paleozoic_reefer likes this.
  7. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    A splitter should be an option. Plug this into where you plug in your EB8, then plug your EB8 into one side and the ground probe in another.
    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Axis-3-Outlet-Heavy-Duty-Grounding-Adapter-45092/206346665

    Without doing a soil analysis, I can't tell you if a 6' copper rod would be appropriate. You may need a longer rod or you may need 2 spaced apart based on soil conductivity.

    As long as the power strip is UL listed you can plug the ground probe into it. Part of the UL listing is that the ground connection is carried through without interruption from each outlet through the plug.
     
    Paleozoic_reefer and Ghxst like this.
  8. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    Can I put the grounding probe in my apex then? It should be UL. The splitter won’t fit in the water proof box and my basement is finished ( I was under the impression this whole time that just the copper alone would do it, whoops)


    I appreciate the help!
     
  9. siggy

    siggy Gone Fishing Again R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    4,601
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    @Brew12 that link did not work for me, is this the one you were referring to? @HomeDepot

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Yup, I have tested the EB8 personally and their grounds are solidly connected. If you have an unused receptacle on it, that would be a fine location.

    If you ever decide you need that receptacle later you could go with something like this.
    https://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlim...d=1513612148&sr=8-29&keywords=outlet+splitter

    Plug the EB8 into one, the ground probe into the other.
     
    Ghxst likes this.
  11. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Nope. What I linked him to was this.

    upload_2017-12-18_9-51-42.png
     
  12. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado

    Thanks a bunch!! I have read so many post that indicated to never plug a ground into the eb8 or power bar. Since I am an electrical dummy I just did so.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  13. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Those posts are written for good reason. I have found more than a few cheap older power strips that don't have the ground connected correctly.
     
    Ghxst likes this.
  14. Swoody

    Swoody Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    804
    Hey @Brew12, read all of this thread....ground probe arrived today! Thanks!
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  15. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    Good to know why! Thanks again. 2 last questions that will get me all set. Does my eb8 have to have the outlet the ground probe is in, in the on position as if I was using it or can it be off to still obtain the ground? And how can I tell if the wall outlet is ground itself? I really appreciate it!!
     
  16. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    No, the outlet does not have to be on for the ground probe to work in the EB8.

    Do you have a meter that will read resistance? Or voltage?
     
  17. coweyes298

    coweyes298 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Diamond Bar, CA
    My titanium ground probe is this. upload_2017-12-20_10-54-44.png
    What I did is having the fork like contact stick to the ground prong of ADJ strip. ( I have a wall plug, two outlets. One is for ADJ 8 switches power strip, one is for my GHL powerbar.)

    Is this the right way to connect?
     
  18. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    Awesome, thanks! Just ohms with a fluke meter. Will that work?
     
  19. Ghxst

    Ghxst Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Colorado
    I was told that I can set the fluke to 200ohms and put one needle in the ground and one on the screw of the cover plate to see if it is ground. It should make a sound if so.

    Is this correct info?
     
  20. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    30,874
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    My preferred way is to plug in an extension cord to a different outlet, and test resistance from the ground prong on the extension cord to the outlet. In my opinion, this is the most foolproof method.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...