• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Versa Head Pressure Issue?

heifinator

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
60
I have a new 4x Versa and am really enjoying it, however I do have a problem with one use case.

I am using 2 of the pumps for an automatic water change, both pumps are set to constant mode at ~5ml/min. The fresh saltwater is stored about ~10 feet below the versa pump (basement) on a ~25 foot run of hard RODI 1/4" tubing.

I've calibrated the pumps but am having a problem with the fresh saltwater pump not keeping up with the waste pump. Every time the pump turns there are moments where the pump doesn't hold the pressure and the water in the tubing 'backs up' about 2".

See video.


Any help is very appreciated!
 
OP
heifinator

heifinator

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
60
The fresh salt water eventually completely stops due to the suction from the head pressure.
 
OP
heifinator

heifinator

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
60
An update on this. Ecotech, after replacing the tubing push to connect thinks that "the head pressure is too much for the pump".

This is disappointing as the listed head pressure is "18+ ft". I have measured the height of my run and it is at worst 12ft. It appears the Versa underperforms its own specification for head pressure.

I will post an update with a resolution if we find one, but that is where we are at currently...
 
OP
heifinator

heifinator

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
60
Wanted to give everyone an update on this. After months of trying different tubing, connectors, check valves, etc I have been unable to find a solution. It seems like the Versa, while a fantastic pump, can't handle the ~10ft head pressure for my application.
 

Lucas815

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 12, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
44
Is the pump pulling or pushing the water?

According to Ecotech, these pumps are way better at pushing rather than pulling.
 
OP
heifinator

heifinator

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
112
Reaction score
60
Is the pump pulling or pushing the water?

According to Ecotech, these pumps are way better at pushing rather than pulling.
I pinged them on this today and they said the same thing. Its funny in all the back and forward with them they never told me to try that till today!!!

going to get a power supply for a single unit and give that a try :D
 

Sabellafella

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
9,955
An update on this. Ecotech, after replacing the tubing push to connect thinks that "the head pressure is too much for the pump".

This is disappointing as the listed head pressure is "18+ ft". I have measured the height of my run and it is at worst 12ft. It appears the Versa underperforms its own specification for head pressure.

I will post an update with a resolution if we find one, but that is where we are at currently...
Its not too much. I can't even use this pump through a 2 chamber calcium reactor without water being retreated back into my last chamber due to head pressure. I have to have my inlet of my reactor raised above my stand in order for my pump to work. This happened after i dropped the flow rate. Not to happy about it.
Screenshot_20200916-075632_APEX Fusion.jpg
 

Cain310

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
The lack of feedback/transparency regarding the versa is troubling from a company who had/has? the market right where they want them.
 

Tim at EcoTech

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
70
Reaction score
197
Its not too much. I can't even use this pump through a 2 chamber calcium reactor without water being retreated back into my last chamber due to head pressure. I have to have my inlet of my reactor raised above my stand in order for my pump to work. This happened after i dropped the flow rate. Not to happy about it.
Is it possible to run your calcium reactor with the pump closer to the reactor so that it is sucking less and pushing more? The pumps function better under pressure than suction.
 

Sabellafella

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
9,955
Is it possible to run your calcium reactor with the pump closer to the reactor so that it is sucking less and pushing more? The pumps function better under pressure than suction.
I'll have to get a photo when I get home. Its about 9 inches out the second chamber into the dosing pump. I tried mounting the pump lower then the last chamber to see if it would help out but just never worked out. It made no sense to me that It seemed like I was pulling a vacuum in a pressurize unit. So I took my calcium reactor apart, cleaned everything out including the media, replaced the lines and ran shorter with the tubing.

The pump will work for a day or so then will just fail to pull at anything less then 18ml per minute. What I think is happening, is that the air/gas thats allowed to accumulate inside the reactor, is creating more head for my dosing pump to work properly. I have it setup so any accumulated air, will get purged out via dosing pump.

Don't get me wrong I love the versa, everything about it is wonderful. Im not an engineer but something is telling me it needs bigger rollers.
 

How often do you have some type of algae issue?

  • Constantly Something

    Votes: 270 42.7%
  • Every Month

    Votes: 37 5.8%
  • Every Few Months

    Votes: 83 13.1%
  • A Few Times A Year

    Votes: 89 14.1%
  • Once A Year Or So

    Votes: 63 10.0%
  • Every Few years

    Votes: 30 4.7%
  • Never.....(are you lying?)

    Votes: 40 6.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 21 3.3%

Online statistics

Members online
1,283
Guests online
3,403
Total visitors
4,686
MAXSPECT
Top