WannaBSpaghetti's Reefer 250 Planning and Build

WannaBSpaghetti

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef2Reef - I'm a novice hobbyist who is wading back into the shallows of reef keeping and was told by the fine people of Reddit that this was a far superior place to pose questions and receive serious feedback. The impression I got was that this forum was populated by the (on average) brightest and most helpful hobbyists available, and that starting here would give me a serious leg up in keeping a reef tank healthy and happy for the months and years ahead.

So I'll dive right into it - I am planning out a completely fresh reef system and would like the communities feedback on the equipment, tank included, that I've chosen. I understand and accept that reef-keeping is an expensive pastime, but I will be including the BRS listed price with each piece of equipment for both my own record keeping and budgeting needs as well as for reference if anyone knows of a similar piece of equipment with comparable output and quality that they think would be a wiser choice monetarily. I have no problem paying for quality - but know that I sometimes have a tendency to fall for marketing smoke and mirrors.

I will be laying out each piece of equipment/expense in the order in which I anticipate purchasing them and bundled in "Phases".

Phase 0: Prep
Hire an electrician to install a dedicated outlet for tank. est.$150.00 (Actual = $419.00. Worth it though.)
Kill A Watts PS-10 Power Strip. $69.99

Phase 1: Water
BRS 6-Stage RO/DI Filter. $289.99
2x 32 Gallon Global Industrial Trash Cans w/ Lids. $90.98
2x BRS RO Float Valves. $28.98
Python Water Change System 50ft. $59.99

Phase 2: Tank
Red Sea Reefer Series 250. $1,349.00
Syncra Silent Return Pump. $174.99
Octo Aquatics OctoLid w/ access door. $205.00

Phase 3: Rock, Sale, and Sand
BRS 50lb Reef Saver Dry-Rock. $134.00
Jarassic Super Glue. $44.99
MarineMix 170g Salt Mix. $76.99