Waterbox Marine X 35.1 build

Jason sovereign

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow reefers from Michigan,

A little background on myself. I am new to reef 2 reef but have been in the hobby since 2004. Over the years I have had several systems with my last 2 being mostly sps with a few of my lps favorites. Both torn down and sold off around moving. My last system which was set up in 2015 was a custom aquarium on a tslot stand in which I furniture maker build a custom shell. Ran all the bells and whistles on it from a ati power module, eco tech mp40’s and around this time the ecotech m1 return, max spect gyres and apex dos had just been released. It was a 65 gallon system that after all was said in done cost me just over $14k to set up. This system ran until the middle of 2018 and tore down because I wasn’t able to give the aquarium the attention it deserved. I had told myself then I am out for good but after 1 1/2 years I’m back. I took advantage of the Black Friday sales and started back on my journey. My intention was to do a small system that I can enjoy in the living room. One thing getting out taught me is I appreciate the quite so as I build this new system that is going to be at the forefront. Secondly and this will probably be unpopular is I don’t want a controller in which I am spending more time looking at my phone then enjoying the tank itself. In my experience I feel I always had better growth and color when I just let the system running without messing with it to much doing just the basics.

So that brings me to today. Starting off with a waterbox marine x 35.1. The tank itself the water volume is 22 gallons the sump is 11.2 gallons with a built in 2.1 gallon ato reservoir. I plan to keep it semi simple.

equipment I have decided on so far and have purchased.