What's up guys. New reefer with a 40g tank.

MrReefBuster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What's up my fellow R2R members?
My names monti and I'm fairly new to saltwater & reef tanks. Had my 40g tank running for about 7 months now. Here's the specs:

Reef octopus classic 90 HOB skimmer
fluval 306 canister filter
1 hydor coralia pump 850 gpd
1 ebay duel pump lol
hydor smart wave controller
Current USA orbit marine led lights
jagger heater 250w
40lbs of Cured dry rocks (cured them myself at home seprate from the tank)
arg alive pink Fiji sand 40 lbs

Fish/inverts & corals:
Reg clown (Nemo )
Tomato clown
hippo/blue tang
yellow tang
Sailfin Tang
Yellow dottie
2 shrimps
1 sand shifting starfish
Hermit crabs
snails
2 anemones (can't get clowns to host :(
Goniopora
Hammer coral
colt coral
mushrooms blue green &red
green pipe organ
Electric torch coral (tomato clown hosts this lol)

Having common new reefer issues. Ammonia (.25-.50 ppm) probably because of too many fish, especially from the 3 TANGS lol. Nitrates around 20-40ppm. Everything else is normal. Eventually I'll get a sump /refugium. Budget reefer so progress is show. I have a youtube channel where I post vids and talk about my tank and it's progression. Look me up, ID is "Mr reef buster" I'm adding a link for my video, you can see the rest by clicking on my username. also follow me on instagram for daily pics and videos @xclusiv_370z I
20150612_172548.jpg
appreciate all the advise and tips. Thanks guys. Happy reefing

Monti

kevinsmixed90

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
that is a heavily stocked 40. after 7 months you should not have ammonia/nitrite issues so you may want to increase your water changes until these read zero. as to the clowns I have one in my giant toadstool, one in my colt leather and one in my power head bracket! so don't worry about that. by the way, welcome to R2R!

mr.reeferman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0