Why is this hard ?

Notsolostfish

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just dont get it. Im new to the saltwater hobby, and im trying my best here to buy the nest gear for my saltwater tank so i dont have future issues. Its just this mikwaukee refractometer is giving me such a hard time. I ran out of the solution they provide to calibrate. But i was watching a youtube video, and they said i can use RODI to calibrate it. Its just not right. I put rodi and i zero it out. And then i rest with the other 1.025 solution they provided and its 1.026. I truly wants to know the salinity in my saltwater tank. Its bery irritating to have this +/- differences im just pulling my hair.

rtparty

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Uh, that's within the margin of error and totally acceptable. Close enough is good enough in this hobby.

I've calibrated my Milwaukee once in 3 years of ownership. Never an issue.

OP
OP
Notsolostfish

Notsolostfish

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Uh, that's within the margin of error and totally acceptable. Close enough is good enough in this hobby.

I've calibrated my Milwaukee once in 3 years of ownership. Never an issue.
I understand. But its just frustating that u always have this +/- error. Like theres no way to know the exact number? Its funny though when i got this refractometer a week ago. And i used their bottle it was giving me 1.025 exactly but as soon as i started using RODI i lost it.

rtparty

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I understand. But its just frustating that u always have this +/- error. Like theres no way to know the exact number? Its funny though when i got this refractometer a week ago. And i used their bottle it was giving me 1.025 exactly but as soon as i started using RODI i lost it.

Everything in life has a margin of error and tolerances when building.