You'll Never Reef Alone

N3mo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it seems the tank wasnt fully cycled and the bacteria wasnt fully established hence the new fish added caused the spike in ammonia as it couldnt run the full nitrogen cycle.

Great looking tank and scape. just keep pressing on.

OP
OP
YNRA

YNRA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like a 0ppm reading for api test to me.its a cloudy yellow ( from the salt mixture) rather than the lime green reading at 0.25.
Im new to saltwater and not used any other makers test just fyi.
Only api on freshwater for 9 years or so.
Api always gets a bashing for inconsistent results and ive been recommended to buy a seachem test for certain tests.but im on fence at moment whether to buy as it still a colour test and reading all hobby grade tests nowhere near as good as lab tests ovbiously but we shall see if i change to another hobby grade test kit or not.i not testing for other things other than amnonia/ nitrite/ nitrates/ ph at present.so we shall see what kits i buy when start testing the elements hey.
Tank/ rockscape looking great,keep up the good work.
Doctor tim suggests leaving skimmerrs/ uv off for first few days after using bacteria in a bottle as gives chance for them to attach to surfaces i believe he says

Edit : your nitrate test looks like yellow so 0ppm so bacteria not converting amnonia to nitrate unless you got some way of exporting the nitrate and it getting used up in other ways

I do have a bag of pond matrix and marine pure blocks in the sump, believe the pond matrix may be stripping the nitrates. Should I remove it ?

ying yang

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok firstly im on first saltwater tank ( only 2 months in myself)
From what i can work out about may 2nd you added water to tank.so 2.5 weeks ago.
4 days ago on saturday you added fritz turbo start and added couple fish but sadly died.
Api test kits was reading 1- 4ppm amnonia.