• Leave the aquarium alone and let it mature more

• Start dosing phosphates and nitrates

Results are only viewable after voting.

Jose A Diaz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone I’m new to R2R I have a 60 gallon cube at 1 year old mark and have a 40 gallon breeder as a sump with total water volume of 70 to 75 gallons a Vertex Omega 150 skimmer, 2 gallons of Marine pure spheres and cheto. I have a total of 12 fish for about 7 months now. 1 rose bubble tip anemone and a few corals and I still see no NITRATES and PHOSPHATES. I feed seaweed and half a cube of frozen misys shrimp a day and Reef-Roids 2 times a week. It’s my system to young still? or my filtration system it’s to good doing its job? I haven’t done a water change in about a month now keeping an eye on my Calcium, Alk and magnesium trying to see if I get them but they’re still O phosphates and nitrates. Should I start dosing NITRATES and PHOSPHATES to my system??? Or what should I do regarding this situation. Thank you guys in advance...

P-Dub

The ocean is open to all, merciful to none.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome, Jose!!!
I had the same problem. I just fed more. Don't fret about it too much so long as all your corals are looking good. The nutrients are there but are being utilized by all the organisms that need it. There is a tightrope that you end up walking when you start to dose. Whatever you try, DO IT SLOWLY AND OVER TIME.
Let's see some photos of your setup!
Hit the Like button and Share often!

Last edited:

BestMomEver

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the reef! Post some photos of your tank or, better yet, post a build thread in the "Member's tanks" section. As for dosing, I am not the person to ask. I've never had a 0 nutrient system. Sorry I can't help. Someone will come along...

Reef-junky

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah hit Randy up and