120 Display Tank Algae problems

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Tombones

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Currently dosing 26ml of Triton. My parameters are stable and macro algae in sump is growing gang busters. My sps corals have been somewhat pale so I have been dosing nitrate and phosphate for several months, PO4 reads 0- 0.02 and nitrates 2-5 ppm. All seems to be doing very well except for algae in the DT. I have had an explosion of red mat algae, ulva, bubble algae and some thick dark green type of hair algae. I have about 30 blue leg crabs, a hand full of Astraea snails, 1 sea urchin and I just added 3 Brazilian snails and a small fox face rabbit fish.

I realize by adding nitrate and phosphate it will also help grow algae but my sps corals are now coloring up. I was running my sump lights 16 hours but I decided 24 hours for the time being and reduce my DT lights from 10 hours to 8.

If any of you all have any insights on what I have done or what else I should do please comment.

Thanks

Want2BS8ed

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Foxface/Rabbit Fish...

I have a Magnificent Foxface in my 120 DT. He's fat, happy and a gigantic scardy-cat, but he obliterated a rampant outbreak of bubble algae and Ulva in my tank. Took him a couple of weeks to clear it out but it hasn't returned in almost a year-and-a-half.

He happily eats pellets and the occasional piece of Nori now and then. Very well mannered and has been a great addition to my reef.

M

DesertReefBoy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How is the flow in your tank? Is the red mat algae cyno?

If you are trying to increase your nutrients then running your sump light longer will have the opposite effect as you are encouraging the algae to grow. I run my h380 12 on 12 off opposite of my DT. I also
Don’t rinse my food to help keep po4 in my tank.

OP
OP
Tombones

Tombones

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0