4000 Gallon Pond Build

frogman_reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greeting Fellow Reefers!

This is not a reef tank build, but I wanted to share with you another water world build that I have been working on for the past two years. I love all things water, I should have been born a fish. However, since God created me to be a biped, I have tried to stick pretty close to my love of water through many means. I joined the NAVY, lived near the ocean, and when I couldn't be near the ocean, I brought the water to me.

Two years ago I embarked on a project to build a nice pond ecosystem in my back yard at the home I was just completing. I wanted to be able to enjoy the sounds of water while I was resting on my back patio. Here is the progress in picture. Let me know what you think.
IMG_2349.JPG

Drawing out the borders.
IMG_2351.JPG

The Heavy Moving.
IMG_2357.JPG

How to grow a blister.
IMG_2359.JPG

Hole Complete.
IMG_2374.JPG

18 Feet across, 9 Feet wide, 3 feet deep in center
IMG_2376.JPG

Install Liner and wait for storm to fill pond up (Rained 3 inches over the next two days, filled pond completely full.)
IMG_2472.JPG

Install grass and slowly begin planting.

iReef86

Reefin' since 1998.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
At first glance, I thought it was going to be the length of the house! I was like wholllyyyy molllllyyyyyyy!
Looks nice, what do you plan on stocking it with?

OP
OP
frogman_reefer

frogman_reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_2586.JPG
Next it was time to install pumps and filters (although I didn't take pictures of the plumbing).
IMG_2485.JPG

Start adding plants (this was my first of three water lilies, Papyrus, and a friendly little visitor (frog) of which we now have plenty!
IMG_2583.JPG

IMG_2584.JPG

Planting changed a lot the first year, But that is to be expected. Just like building a reef, the layouts gonna change a lot the first year!
I built some benches out of stone.