40g Breeder Build

Forshurley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
This is my first post and hope to share some things I learned and get some ideas to help with the journey.

My current tank is 120g mix reef that I have been running for 5 years. I have had my up and downs and have learned allot over the years. I have 70 different corals in my current mix reef tank and want to start doing some light fragging as things become over grown with hopes to sell/trade to be able to support larger SPS build. I purchased most of my corals from Vivid Aquariums, Golden State Corals, WWC, reefapoloza and BigRcorals. I have lots of designer pieces that pop under the actinic lighting.
tank1.jpg

I started the 40g breeder build with a tank from PetCo during the dollar per gallon sale. Then got a utility rack from home depot that the tank fits snug, ( I stole this idea from a fresh water breeder who stacks the 40g breeders with these racks). I then drilled the tank to be able to run the Eshopps Eclispe M Overflow Box (800 GPH). I was going to use a 40g breeder for the sump but splurged on trigger systems 36 inch Triton sump (this jump cost by $250). I ordered a new skimmer and choose the Red Sea RSK 300. The return pump is a sicce 3.0 700 gallon per hour pump.
overflow.jpg

Skimmer.jpg

I went with AI prime lights base d on BRS reports on spread. The AI prime covers 18x18 and 2 should cover the breeder well. I also plan on running refugium and went with a kessil H80 to power the cheato. The heater is 100W Ehiem jager heater. The ATO is a custom toms aqua lifter pump with spliced float switch.
AIprime.jpg

I order fancy frag rack from build your obsessions and 6 racks will fit snug in tanks foot print. Each rack holds 100+ frags and has such a clean look. I plan on using this tank for manly zoas and hope the light will be strong enough for depth of the tank.
fragrack.jpg