650g DT (Re)build

gt44ever

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, Hello and welcome to my newbie fever underwater circus.

I'm new to the hobby and got thrown into the deep end (literally) to sink or swim. I did an intro thread here:
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/new-here-and-likely-in-over-my-head.558578/page-7#post-5915587

Moving over here for the ongoing adventures of the newbie with too much tank.

The short version for those of you that don't want to read the book I posted in my welcome thread (fair warning, it might not actually be shorter. I can be rather long winded):
  • Tank came with the house I purchased about 2.5 years ago, fully stocked. I've tried to make some upgrades while I've owned the tank, but a lot of it is still as I found it
  • Here's the wholly inadequate instructions we received for our "low maintenance" tank
    • Daily- Feed Fish
      7-10 days- top off water with 5-10 gallons
      6-8 weeks-change filter pad (remove old, slide in new)
      2-3 months- change water
  • The residents as we stand today (I've had a few losses over he past couple years as I've taken my lumps)
    • 2 sharks - Black spotted horned and Bamboo, both over 24" long
    • 2 groupers - Blue line (~14") and Miniatus (~6")
    • Queen/Blue angel, not sure which (+~6")
    • Orange Toadfish (~8")
    • Columbian "shark" Catfish (~10")
    • Black Bar Soldierfish (+~6")
  • And brief once around the tank circuit as it currently stands
    • Glass display with very fine sand bottom. Not especially deep and I need to move some down to the overflow where it's currently bare bottom. There's a few pieces of rock in the DT (not nearly enough). I'll be redoing the rockscape a ways down the road to add a lot for rock, hiding places, and just visual interest
    • Overflow box about half full of bio balls with PVC pipes for drainage.