acro bleaching

MFear

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone...I've been reefing for 6 years or so and am going to give Acros a try...I do have a Digitata and a huge Monti plating cap in my display tank and those have been thriving for years, however I've never had much luck with Acropora. At the same time after a battle with ich and the fallow period and the sloooowwww QT process of restocking my tank, I simply will not put any new frags in the display until they've gone through a 45day QT period in a frag tank at 80 degrees. So that leads me to my advice seeking...I recently bought 4 Acro frags from Unique Corals. After acclimation, within one night (no lights even), one frag was completely bone white by morning. I chalked that up to shipping stress. However after the weekend, another frag turned bone white and it now looks like my stylo frag is starting to turn white...So clearly my setup is insufficient but a little guidance into what may be the culprit would be much appreciated...

Equipment
My tank is an Innovative Marine Fusion 20 Peninsula, so I'm running a ghost skimmer that seems to be running quite wet. An ATO then a sponge filter and a bag of carbon in the rear chamber...plenty go bio balls throughout the display side of the aquarium that have been seasoned in my main display for a couple of months.

PAR
I know my lighting is lacking, I've asked for a Prime 16 Reef for xmas so we'll see...right now though these frags are sitting under 100 PAR from a Current USA light. I don't know if under lighting would cause this problem or not?

Flow
Currently just using a Sicce Syncra .5 which is rate as 185 GPH, there are only 15 gallons of water in my IM Fusion 20 Peninsula so I am getting 12x turnover...I don't know if thats too low for these frags or if thats causing the bleaching?

Temp