AI Lighting choice.

brendokae

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I was hoping some experienced reefers can help me with a lighting question. I am pretty new to reefing and I have a 3 x 2 x 2. to start me off I have i bought a second hand old 16 AI Prime. I want to upgrade and get the required coverage for a 3-foot LPS tank, I was thinking of getting a new 16HD prime or the new Blade Gro. If I go down the two Prime path that a 16HD will look the same as the old prime or will have the same light color. The other way I was thinking of going is getting a new Blade Gro. If I go with the blade path, is it worthwhile integrating the old prime. somehow. I guess the question is do I get better coverage with the blade, and will it have the equivalent par than two AI Primes. The other thing is I like bluelight glow of fluroescent coral do you need a Blade Glow to get that.

DanyL

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To get the appropriate coverage over 3ft you'll either need to go with 4-5 Blades, 3 x 16HD or 2 x blades + 2 x 16HD.
You can also switch to 2 x 32HD.

Also note:
- There currently quality control issues with the blades, so if this is your path I would wait a couple of months and see how things go.
- Hydras are notorious to have different colorations between same models, enough to be noticeable.

That is, if you go with AI.

If budget is a concern I would look into switching to 2 black boxes which are way more capable than the Hydras.
And for 3ft you might even get through with a single ReeFi Uno 2.0 Pro, with way better spectrum and quality than all AI's offerings combined.

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@brendokae I had two AI Prime 16s over my 4x2x2 for a while and it worked out fine for soft corals and LPS. So I think two 16s over your tank should be fine. The challenge will be how much light reaches the sand bed.