Alkalinity & Calcium dosing and consumption

Gungo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When you start to think that you are doing the things right in this hobby, there's always a new thing that tells you that you're wrong. That's my case with KH and CA dosing. I have been dosing BRS two-part to my reef tank for about 5-6 months. Was a little hard to find the point and maintain my levels. I'm actually dosing daily 18ml of KH solution, and 9ml of CA solution to maintain 445 CA, 8 dKH... But someone just told me that I need to be dosing equal parts of KH, CA to my reef. This means that if I am dosing 18ml of KH, I need to be dosing 18ml of CA.. but I just don't understand why. With my current dosing, everything maintains its levels but I need to know if I am wrong! Any help????? Thank you

smokin'reefer

Sea Urchin
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am also dosing a lot more Alk than calcium. I use the Red Sea products and they actually call for more Alk.

d025ecbb6407d19ec0a332fd87af2c11.jpg

I am probably like you and didn't follow a formula to reach my levels but tested and adjusted. I would post my dose amount but I actually dilute my solutions so it would be way over the norms.

Following along to see what others say.

RussiReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To keep my parameters in line I am dosing 600 mil a day Alk and 100 mil CAl .Brightwell product.

Shigshwa

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wonder if other chemical processes in the tank end up reducing alk in the tank too. My tank also consumes more alk than calcium, at about 50-60 percent more on average. Recently though, I've found that the consumption has been steadily equalizing though.

Ashish Patel

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0