AquaticLife Hybrid Mod

siggy

My Aquariums Going Again
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All
When I first seen the T5 Hybrid I was currently considering adding just 2 T5's to supplement my 2
360's. My Wife is very particular and whatever I do would have to pass the sniff test and that meant a canopy and adding more Led's for coverage or all t5's. Well I enjoy the Kessel look like the a lot of you
so when the aquaticlife fixture popped up it was an instant solution on several fronts.
But I was still not satisfied with the lighting and control and later became aware of the cord issue,
as a licensed electrician I have seen numerous fixtures tilting and twisting due to power cords and have had to wrestle with the lot of them.
I also didn't like the control of 2 front or 2 back or all lighting option as well as 2 cords so I knew I would still have some work to do.
So this was my solution to that, as you will see I will have 1 cord and 2 switches, I will also rewire both ballast to facilitate front and back bulbs to switch 1 then both inside bulbs on switch 2.
At this time i'm halfway there and will update when I can during this busy time of the year. BTY
Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah or Best of the Seasons too you.

OP
OP
siggy

siggy

My Aquariums Going Again
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I picked up the switches on amazon and aluminum online, it is 3/4" x 1 1/2" rectangle tube 1/8" wall.

20171130_082419.jpg

toggle.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
siggy

siggy

My Aquariums Going Again
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I next used the side connecting bracket as a template to drill for fasteners, as you can see
I will be removing the light fixture end plates for wiring ease and will use those mounting holes to attach tubing. Then came the machining, I made a switch plate and cut a opening into the tubing and
tapped mounting holes. I plan on replacing fasteners with Stainless button heads.