Brown stringy stuff growing over all my softies

taylorn13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I’m relatively new to reefing, my tank is a little over 2 months old. I added some softies a fre weeks ago that were doing great and even growing. Today I noticed this brown stringy stuff covering my xenia and gap and have no clue where to even begin. My corals dont look the happiest either. Xenia stopped pulsing. If anyone know what this is and what I should do, please help!

image.jpg image.jpg

CrayHawk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Like all other emergency posts, please post your parameters, lighting, etc. Do you use RO water?

OP
OP
taylorn13

taylorn13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Like all other emergency posts, please post your parameters, lighting, etc. Do you use RO water?
So sorry. I forgot to include. Nothing drastically changed in my water params except temp went up a whole degree probably because it was nice outside yesterday so I opened the window and forgot to close it this morning (which was very hot) It’s currently going down. As for RO water, I believe thats what got me into this mess. I bought RO/DI water from a lfs (a little sketchy) for a little while until i decided it’d be much cheeper to just make my own. I recently ordered my own RO/DI system, but it hasn’t come in. I say sketchy because the RO/DI water was supposedly put into distilled water gallon jugs, but was told it was rodi water. I did read that distilled water was alright for an aquarium, so I didn’t question it too much. I even tested the tds and it read 0. I use a Current Orbit USA marine lighting for 10hrs/day. My calcium, phosphate and KH tests aren’t the most trustworthy so take those with a grain of rice. I’m sorry I’m new and I’m currently looking i to getting better testing kits!

image.jpg

OP
OP
taylorn13

taylorn13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:
Read up on Dinoflagellates. Welcome to the struggle.