BRS 75gpd with super saver upgrade barely drips....

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by Eder, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    I’ve spent hours troubleshooting and can’t figure this out. I’ve changed filters and resin out and still same results. I have about 80psi going into it and barely producing a drop. Please help friends!
     

  2. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    I’ve reseated the membranes and everything as well. I’m getting so dang frustrated.
     
  3. Scotty Buttons

    Scotty Buttons Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Hospitality Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I would test your psi with a inline gauge between all the filters to identify if your having a problem between certain chambers.
     
  4. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Good idea. I’ll have to find me one.

    I notice that there is a lot of air in the effluent line. I’ve replaced the blue with a clear line to see what’s going on. It’s snail slow and tons of bubbles
     
  5. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    If I do find a pressure difference between chambers then I can’t think of what I would do to fix it
     
  6. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Gauge will be here Monday. Anyone ever have this issue before?
     
  7. Scotty Buttons

    Scotty Buttons Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Hospitality Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ron Reefman likes this.
  8. JoshH

    JoshH Swimming in the deep end... R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Deleted
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2019
    Ron Reefman and Crabs McJones like this.
  9. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Long story short. Never had issues with it.

    Did the upgrade to super saver.

    Worked awesome for like a day. But we just filled 300g worth for a new tank. Changed filters and resin accordingly throughout. After the first day or so it was barely dripping. We got so frustrated we ended up just buying RODI.

    So no. Was never having problems before.

    Hopefully these pics help.

    If not I can take better ones tomorrow.

    For the time being I just bought another system. But I’d like to fix this one so I can still use it and double my output.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. JoshH

    JoshH Swimming in the deep end... R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Deleted
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2019
  11. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Sure. I changed the DI resin x2 and the carbon block and sediment filters x1
     
  12. Ron Reefman

    Ron Reefman Lets Go Snorkeling! R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    4,394
    Location:
    SW Florida
    Can you start the system and then pull off the outlet side of each different filter in order (just disconnect the john guest hose connectors). If you have good outflow, that filter is OK. Eventually one isn't going to have much outflow... that's the one you need to address.
     
    JoshH likes this.
  13. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    I have a gauge coming in today so I’ll let you know thanks for the feedback on this so far!
     
  14. Reef man 89

    Reef man 89 Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    875
    are you sure you hooked it up right?? I have the same system and after I add the water saver the output is a solid stream at 85psi. My guess would be something is not hooked up right or there is a blockage somewhere in the system.
     
  15. JoshH

    JoshH Swimming in the deep end... R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Deleted
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2019
  16. Hallowhead

    Hallowhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I would almost guarantee it's either your input pressure is too low or it's your flow restrictor leaving the system. Does the water flow out of the system at a fast rate? Or also seems to be a slower rate?
     
  17. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Pressure coming in is 80psi

    Water flowing out of the system? As in my product water? It barely drips. And also produces a ton of air bubbles within the RODI line
     
    Hallowhead likes this.
  18. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    That’s what I’m trying to figure out brother. I’ve watched the video many times and I’ve also replaced all of the lines. Ugh.
     
  19. Eder

    Eder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    114
    Admittedly I did not. Could this have been the issue? I’ve never actually done that before so maybe I’m doing it wrong.

    I do flush the membranes before and after I use it the system but not after I change out filters etc.
     
  20. Hallowhead

    Hallowhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No your waste water line. How's the flow coming out of the system. 80 is on the high end. Is that before or after the membrane
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page