Bubble-magus miniQ

Nemjamin

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I use a bubble-magus miniQ on my Red Sea Max Nano anemone tank. I would like to get some other users input on the skimmer. I'm new to reefing (one year in) and even newer to using a skimmer. So it might be a general skimmer question or it might be specific to the miniQ.

My problem is that I get a short burst of micro bubbles from the return nozzle every so often. I'm wondering if there's any way to correct this or if I just have to live with the bubbles? Otherwise I get minimal bubbles in the display (very few) and the skimmer skims pretty good. The skimmer is set as low as it will go into my filtration area, the water level of the filter area is about two inches below the "water level" sticker. The water level inside the skimmer body is in like with the water level sticker.

IMG_20221219_192853_01.jpg

Blue Spot Octopus

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe you need to clean the pump, sun it in some fresh water to clean up the calcium build up and salt creep.

OP
OP
Nemjamin

Nemjamin

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe you need to clean the pump, sun it in some fresh water to clean up the calcium build up and salt creep.
It was brand new when I started using it 2-3 weeks ago. Maybe it just needs to break in a bit more? The burst of bubbles is just strange. Not sure if the pump can get that dirty in 2-3 weeks

10gNanoTank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I use a bubble-magus miniQ on my Red Sea Max Nano anemone tank. I would like to get some other users input on the skimmer. I'm new to reefing (one year in) and even newer to using a skimmer. So it might be a general skimmer question or it might be specific to the miniQ.