Can't Unscrew RODI Canisters

Tristan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have a BRS RODI unit and this is my first time trying to open it. I've had it since December as a Christmas gift. The canisters are screwed on so friggin tight I can't get them off. I don't want to try to hard in case I crack it. Any tips? Should i put Teflon tape on the threads if i do get them open?

Joeganja

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
image.jpeg
Brs sells these wrenches for removing the canisters. My rodi unit from brs came with one. Might want to check if yours did also

Breadman03

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those wrenches are available at Lowes/Home Depot as well, and are the same as those used for typically household water filters.

When installing the canisters, only tighten them enough to seal properly.

OP
OP
Tristan

Tristan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
image.jpeg
Brs sells these wrenches for removing the canisters. My rodi unit from brs came with one. Might want to check if yours did also
Those wrenches are available at Lowes/Home Depot as well, and are the same as those used for typically household water filters.

When installing the canisters, only tighten them enough to seal properly.
I am using the canister wrench.

seastar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I assuming you're turning them to the left to loosen. if its not to hard to get of the wall maybe you can run them under hot water for a bit, seems to work with everything else with a tight lid.

ksfulk

Working back towards clean
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am using the canister wrench.