Clownfish resting on substrate, normal or reason for concern !!!

SaltTank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi and Happy Holidays to you all.

I'm new to saltwater and never had clownfish. I started the journey 3weeks ago. Set up the tank 13.5gallon evo with live sand, dry rock an seeded with Dr Tims and added the ammonia. 1week later 90% water change and added (2) clowns and biospira. Noticed that my API ammonia test was slightly green .25ppm and researched and discovered that API test TOTAL ammonia so purchased a Seachem ammonia alert badge and Seachem ammonia test. Put the badge in an ammonia is 0 and tested with the Seachem test. There is a little total ammonia but 0 FREE ammonia. Nitrites are 0. Nitrates are between 5-20 .... i have a hard time reading the colors because on the API test they are so close but i'm going to call it 10. Salinity is 1.024. PH 7.9.

Started tank with:
filter pad
polyfil
Seachem Matrix
GEMs 1 1/2 spheres

Yesterday added :
Chemipure blue
Purigen

3days after adding the clowns i noticed one tail was pretty torn up a was being chased by the other. I separated the aggressor into a breeder box in tank and started feeding kanaplex because it looked like the clown with the busted up tail had developed fin rot. I was feeding the kanaplex because i have coral, crabs and snails in the tank and didn't want to harm them by dosing the tank. After 3 days of feeding and still seeing the tail degrade while the aggressive clown was in breeder box it took the busted up clown back to the LFS because the white discoloration on the tail that i noticed when i got him spread into 3 larger spots. They exchanged it and i got one that is a little smaller than the one i kept.