Copper in display tank

epsteino

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
how does copper affect SPS? ICP test of the display tank shows 1.178 ug/l. I am having recession of the bases of several of my corals. this has been going on for several months now.

Just ran my Hanna HR copper checker twice which showed 0.06 and then 0.02 ppm in the DT.

I tested copper twice from the RODI unit (which is reading 1 TDS) - shows 0.11 and 0.15 ppm copper in my RODI.

Is cuprisorb effective? Best method of using it?

thanks,
Oren

IMG_5877.jpg IMG_5879.jpg IMG_5880.jpg IMG_5881.jpg IMG_5882.jpg IMG_5884.jpg IMG_5885.jpg

OP
OP
epsteino

epsteino

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good catch with the ICP test, I’m interested in how it made it through the RODI. Seems like a bad filter or membrane.
Yes. I have been testing 1 TDS for several months out of my RODI unit. didn't realize how BAD that is. but apparently 0 is the only TDS one should accept. Im gonna change out the unit actually to a bigger one and then test again.

Skynyrd Fish

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had the same situation With my ro. I replaced all my membranes and filters. Cuprasorb worked great. I usually keep a bag running in a reactor on slow flow. It saved my tank as I had a magnet on a probe holder explode and I had no idea until I cleaned my sump. It was bad. I only test with ATI twice per year. My sps are doing really well. Good luck.

OP
OP
epsteino

epsteino

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had the same situation With my ro. I replaced all my membranes and filters. Cuprasorb worked great. I usually keep a bag running in a reactor on slow flow. It saved my tank as I had a magnet on a probe holder explode and I had no idea until I cleaned my sump. It was bad. I only test with ATI twice per year. My sps are doing really well. Good luck.