DIY sump with refugium

Matt Miller

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an acrylic sump that measures 12x15x35. It has no baffles and I want to add a refugium. I've read through some of the others but am not sure how tall to make the baffles.

The tank is 15" tall and I don't want to waste any more room than I have to. I've seen some baffle kitsbwith 3 @9" and the 4th @13 with slots at the top.

I'm thinking I need 3 between skimmer and refugium area and 1 going into the return.

I will be getting the DT setup soon then I get to figure out the rest of the plumbing.

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Any drawings of what you're thinking currently? I know several guys on the #reefsquad can help with sump design.

OP
OP
Matt Miller

Matt Miller

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry I'm no artist but basically I just want room for the sump and overflow I'm the first, right? I was thinking just split the rest for refugium,and the return. Dual overflow and return lines so I need room for backflow if power goes off.

The tank is 15" tall. Is that enough info?

1481128016459.jpg

OP
OP
Matt Miller

Matt Miller

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry I'm no artist but basically I just want room for the sump and overflow in the first, right? I was thinking just split the rest for refugium,and the return. Dual overflow and return lines so I need room for backflow if power goes off.

The tank is 15" tall. Is that enough info?

1481128016459.jpg

OP
OP
Matt Miller

Matt Miller

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are marks on the sump from the last guy showing the water level change when everything's off. Do I just figure the volume from that and make sure the return area has more room than that?
Also when it backflows, is it ok to flow back into the fuge section, or should it be contained to the return?

CodyRVA

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score