First Ever Tank - 24g AIO

JoseGaspar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! First time poster, I'm very excited to be here and learn.
I'm very new to reefing - I put together my first tank based on the advice of my LFS on this last Sunday (2/Oct)!
The tank is a completely stock 24g AOI from Aquatop - the Recife ECO 24.
Based on the advice of the LFS I added 20lbs of Live Rock and a bag of live sand as the base, then added a bacteria kickstart (I do not remember the brand, honestly. It was a black bottle).
Then on Tuesday I added my first clown, followed by another on Thursday - I now realize that this is against common advice, that I should have let the tank "cycle" and added ammonia to kickstart that process and measure over time. I am being extremely diligent about checks every day now, a fish-in cycle is scary, but so far my Ammonia and Nitrites are both at 0, nitrates are at around 30. I'm hoping the live rock and sand helps kickstart the cycle rapidly and I don't see any ammonia/Nitrite spikes.
If anyone has advice on some immediate (or long-term) upgrades, or wisdom in general, I'm all ears!
20221008_095749.jpg

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself and show everyone a picture of the two cute clowns who are now a part of the family.

Calebd91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Congrats on the new tank an stepping into reefing! The aquatop 24 is a great starter tank that can be modded to your liking, we started one for my fiancé about 8 months ago an she has done most all of the upkeep herself as well as she did her own scape and picked out corals.
the first thing we changed up was the light, I have had few tanks over the years and been a fan of AI so went with a Prime 16hd
Also at same time we did the light we went with a Kraken reef lid, much better then the stock glass lid an light combo.