First RODI Unit -- Wish Me Luck

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My wife/kids bought me a BRS 6-stage RODI (75 GPD "Plus") unit for my birthday.
Up until now, I've just been buying bulk RO/DI water from my LFS at 25 cents / gallon so this will be my first foray into filtering my own water.

Install looks pretty straight-forward so I'm mostly worried about the normal use of it, which I have no experience with:
***tons of info so I just need to go back and read more
-- First use, do I run for a long time and dump (since filters are brand new)?
-- Normal use, I think I'm supposed to flush the RO membrane for some amount of time before and after each cycle, right?

*spent a couple of hours just trying to clear out space in the garage where I want it so didn't get too far:

rodi1.jpeg

Never used a uniseal before so have it "testing" out in the dirt for now but, after a couple of hours, don't see any leaks.
*concept "feels" like there's margin for error but I know people use them
*install was way too easy so that seems almost unfair but it's working so far

brute1.jpeg

Woodyman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Seems like your off to a good start!

Here's some further reading

Woodyman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My wife/kids bought me a BRS 6-stage RODI (75 GPD "Plus") unit for my birthday.
Up until now, I've just been buying bulk RO/DI water from my LFS at 25 cents / gallon so this will be my first foray into filtering my own water.

Install looks pretty straight-forward so I'm mostly worried about the normal use of it, which I have no experience with:
***tons of info so I just need to go back and read more
-- First use, do I run for a long time and dump (since filters are brand new)?
Long time, probably not - just enough to flush out any sediment and rehydrate the membrane if it's dry. If it is dry that will take longer than a wet membrane.