Fish Won't Stop Dying! Corals Thriving...

Starfishandseahorse

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hiya!

I have a Red Sea 750XXL 200 gallon tank that is driving me nuts. I'm new to fish, as I've always done Nano reef tanks with only coral.
All my corals are thriving in my tank right now, including my extremely finicky ones that are generally difficult to keep. My inverts look great, Urchins stealing and moving everything in sight, starfish and clams are happy, etc..

But. I cannot keep fish alive. My first wave was a a few Chromis' and 9 firefish. They all disappeared one by one. I never found any of their bodies. I waited a month before adding more fish.
I grabbed a few more Chromis and a few assorted peaceful Wrasse and a Gramma. Some of the wrasse died under various circumstances. A few of them just disappeared and I was worried that maybe one of the larger Wrasse was potentially killing them off, but then two of them started swimming around strangely before dying with visual confirmation. At the end, I lost all the wrasse and had 2 Chromis' left. I currently have 8 Chromis (including my 2 survivors) and last month I bought one firefish to try again, and sure enough, he just disappeared the other day.

At this point I've lost thousands of dollars of fish and I can't seem to figure out the pattern. The only fish I have had consistently had in the tank are Chromis. I am very careful with my acclimation process and follow recommended procedure including quarantining. I wait a few months after my die-offs to try again. I do regular 20% water changes and am meticulous with keeping my parameters stable.

All other occupants are a reef safe cleanup crew, brittle stars, tuxedo urchins, cleaner and peppermint shrimp.

My stats: 200 gallon Tank has been up and running for a year and a half. Tons of lovely Macro algaes in my refugium. More sand and live rock than is even recommended.

Temp: 76-78 degrees
Salinity: 1.025
PH: 8.2
Phosphates: 0
Nitrates: 0