Gem Tang Timeout

txmaverickmh

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All,

I have a 180g mixed reef, 6 months old...lots of lyretail anthias, clowns, several wrasses, and my fav, Gem Tang...I bought a beautiful blonde naso tang a few days ago, and since entering the tank, Gem Tang has been bullying him like crazy. The Naso has a few little nicks on him, but nothing major. I tried mirrors, no help...I was able to catch the Gem Tang today, and I placed him in time out in an isolation box inside the tank where they can still see each other.

Any expert thoughts on how long I keep him in isolation box? he was tough to catch, prefer not to do that again...I am new to tangs with first large tank, I thought I would have better luck since they are different genus.

Thank you so much in advance.

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All,

I have a 180g mixed reef, 6 months old...lots of lyretail anthias, clowns, several wrasses, and my fav, Gem Tang...I bought a beautiful blonde naso tang a few days ago, and since entering the tank, Gem Tang has been bullying him like crazy. The Naso has a few little nicks on him, but nothing major. I tried mirrors, no help...I was able to catch the Gem Tang today, and I placed him in time out in an isolation box inside the tank where they can still see each other.

Any expert thoughts on how long I keep him in isolation box? he was tough to catch, prefer not to do that again...I am new to tangs with first large tank, I thought I would have better luck since they are different genus.

I had a similar issue with a coral beauty beating up a new yellow tang - I left her in the iso box for 2 weeks, because like you, i wasn't keen on ripping apart my scape to catch her again. This was long enough for the aggression to disappear in my case.

OP
OP
txmaverickmh

txmaverickmh

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0