Goby divorce?

GarrettT

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I got a pair of wheeler gobies about 2 weeks ago. They have been inseparable from one another. Two days ago, I added a tiger pistol shrimp and now I see one goby with the shrimp while the other goby is by himself on the other side of the tank. Is this common behavior?

Karen00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aren't these a shrimp goby? I would think this is normal behavior. The goby that has been left out might need its own shrimp to pair up with. I'm not an expert in these gobies so I will defer to people with more experience but I would say this is normal.

OP
OP
GarrettT

GarrettT

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just figured as a paired goby, they would remain together with the shrimp

coralfishreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is common behavior for both of my shrimp goby pairs. The smaller goby almost always sticks with the shrimp and the larger goby sits out front. I usually see the smaller goby barely poking out of the burrow, guarding the shrimp and the larger goby outside of the burrow somewhere. Or, I don’t see the smaller goby at all until it’s feeding time.

And sometimes they are side by side together or in close proximity. Sometimes one is in front at one burrow entrance out and the other on the far side of the tank at another burrow entrance.

F73D9083-A09C-4309-8266-9E050D657F14.jpeg

Karen00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is common behavior for both of my shrimp goby pairs. The smaller goby almost always sticks with the shrimp and the larger goby sits out front. I usually see the smaller goby barely poking out of the burrow, guarding the shrimp and the larger goby outside of the burrow somewhere. Or, I don’t see the smaller goby at all until it’s feeding time.