Greetings and suggestions on build

KyleyBob

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I’m brand new to the hobby. I’m currently working on setting up a tank. I have a 40 gallon breeder that was drilled by the local shop for drain and return (I’m not sure what the technical terms are.) I’ve also purchased another 40 gallon breeder that I’ll be using to make a sump.
I’ll be making stands for both this weekend, most likely. I’m a paraplegic, so in order for me to reach everywhere I need to reach it’s not practical to put the sump under the main tank, because it would be too high. So, I’m going to place them side by side with the sump lower. It may not look as nice, but I’ll be able to reach everything.
I’ll attempt to attach a picture of the sump build I’ll be modeling. I’m sure all of you can already tell by looking at it, but just in case (from right to left in the pic) The water flows down into a sock filter with the protein skimmer next to it, then the water pours over a bubble trap leading into the area with the return pump, leaving the refugium at the end. The return pump will send water to the tank as well as to the refugium.
This is the model the guy at the local shop recommended. If anyone has suggestions otherwise I’m open to them.
For a skimmer I’m thinking reef octopus 110, and for return pump Sicce 2.0
From what I’ve read so far those are solid choices. I’m open to other suggestions, especially if I can find high quality options and save money.
I could use suggestions on lighting, in tank circulation and anything else that comes to mind.
I’d like to eventually try my hand at both lps and sps. As far as fish, I know I want a pair of clowns. From there I would just like to get whatever I can to make the tank look great. As many different colors as possible at different levels of the tank.
I’ll end with saying anything that will save me money without sacrificing too much quality is ideal.

E28146FD-77B1-4575-B77D-FB019DEC10E9.jpeg