GUIDE: Using buttons and switches with PLM-Adin Card!

Macca_75

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
285
Reaction score
118
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
@AZMSGT and @Gaël - sorry I misread the post but I think we are all on the same page.

The PLM-ADIN card gives inputs to the Profilux (allows you to read the status of a button for example), the L&S Port breakout box gives more outputs from the Profilux (allows you to control a DC pump for example).

Apologies for any confusion I caused by misreading the post.
 

cmcoker

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
3,961
Reaction score
4,076
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Texas
Thanks! I also have a write up for using the breakout box with up to 8 relays- will be posting that later today. Difficult to format things so they read well in a forum post.
Did you ever post about using relays? I couldn't find one relating to that but am looking to use the pl-adin to monitor for power outage, so would appreciate if you have any info. I understand the concept, just tryng to figure out how to apply it.
 
OP
TheHarold

TheHarold

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
4,905
Reaction score
8,362
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Did you ever post about using relays? I couldn't find one relating to that but am looking to use the pl-adin to monitor for power outage, so would appreciate if you have any info. I understand the concept, just tryng to figure out how to apply it.

That would be using their $30 S-Port & L-Port Breakout Box, not the PLM-ADIN. Its nice since that is not an additional card- its external.
 

cmcoker

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
3,961
Reaction score
4,076
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Texas
That would be using their $30 S-Port & L-Port Breakout Box, not the PLM-ADIN. Its nice since that is not an additional card- its external.
Hmm, my understanding was I needed the plm-adin using a relay. How would the breakout box work to detect a power outage? The GHL write up says to use a plm-adin since a digital input is needed. I am using a Profilux 3, so no built in port for power loss monitoring.

I was going off this writeup:
 
OP
TheHarold

TheHarold

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
4,905
Reaction score
8,362
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hmm, my understanding was I needed the plm-adin using a relay. How would the breakout box work to detect a power outage? The GHL write up says to use a plm-adin since a digital input is needed. I am using a Profilux 3, so no built in port for power loss monitoring.

I was going off this writeup:

Oh yeah, you could use that for power loss detection (input). I was thinking to control relays (output)
 

Enea

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
36
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hello, using the analog ports (1-10V) of the ADIN board, is it possible to create boolean functions in order to increase the number of buttons and not only have 4?
 

BeFreshW

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Belgium
@TheHarold, I'm a bit new to this so its possible that i'm completely wrong about this.
But would it be possible to connect up to 16 buttons to the ADIN port if you use combinations of pins 2-5 and the programmable logic. so you can create up to 16 different outcomes.
for example:
button 1 is connected to pin 2 (1000)* with outcome feed pause
button 2 is connected to pin 2 & 3 (1100) with outcome maintenance
...
button 16 is connected to pins 2-4 (1111) with outcome foto mode (lights adjust to be more realistic on camera for 15 min.)
*(0000) "binary" form of the pins with 1 being connected/ activated/powered and 0 not connected.

I would connect the pins parallel to each button or use an arduino to perhaps tidy things a bit up and do the calculations.
 

Macca_75

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
285
Reaction score
118
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Using the GHL PLM-ADIN Card with Buttons for Feed, Maintenance,
Activating Programs,
and Shutting Off Devices.

WARNING: This is just an account of how I have my personal system set up. Work with electrical devices at your own risk, as serious damage to person or property can occur. Especially near water. Read all manufacturer instructions, and be sensible.


The GHL PLM-ADIN Card gives you four digital inputs and two 0-10v inputs. It can be installed in a Profilux 4 expansion slot (there are two slots available) or in the Expansion Box 2. Here we are using the digital inputs with buttons to enable your feed programs, maintenance programs, or to turn on/off specific outlets or subroutines. You can also use digital inputs in combination with float switches, magnetic switches, etc.

To physically install the PLM-ADIN Card, follow the video located below. The only tool you will need is a T10 Torx screwdriver/bit.



The ADIN card includes a ½ meter RJ45 cable, and a RJ45 to DB9 adapter. Here there are a few options to connect, depending on your preference. I do not suggest using the DB9 adapter (and purchasing a DB9 terminal breakout). It creates an additional connection that is not necessary if you use a RJ45 breakout (details below).

RJ45 breakout adapters are available for under $10 on Amazon, Ebay, etc. One end of the RJ45 cable connects to the RJ45 port and allows you to use screw terminals to connect your switches and buttons. Of course, the other end of the RJ45 cable (Either the included ½ meter cable or another of your preferred length) would be in the ADIN card.

Image: Example RJ45 breakouts.
Hu


Wiring digital inputs:

To sum it up: Digital inputs are activated if the given pin is connected to ground. It’s quite simple. This can be accomplished in many ways; buttons, toggle switches, float switches, etc.

Momentary buttons are best for activating timed modes such as Feed Pause or Maintenance. A momentary button is only activated while the button is pressed- when you release it, the input is no longer active. Feed Pauses and Maintenance involve the easiest programming, as it can be done directly via the "Digital Input" tab.

Latching buttons or toggle switches are best for keeping something off until you un-latch it again. Note that this requires programming logic.

The PLM-ADIN card has the following pinout. The pins highlighted in red are NOT used for this application.

Pin 1: 10v (Do not use)
Pin 2: Digital Input 1
Pin 3: Digital Input 2
Pin 4: Digital Input 3
Pin 5: Digital Input 4
Pin 6: 0-10v input #1
Pin 7: 0-10v input #2

Pin 8: Ground


So if you wanted to have a button on Digital Input 1, the button would go in between Pin 2 and Pin 8. When pressed, the button would activate the input and your programming.

Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.48.37 AM.png


You can also chain the grounds from multiple buttons. This is convenient because you can only fit one wire into the terminal of the breakout.
Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.48.50 AM.png



Digital Input Programming (Basic):

If you add a ADIN card to your Profilux, it will be assigned to Digital Input 1-4. Digital Inputs are easy to find in the Profilux menu, and once opened, you can assign a function (Feed Pause or Maintenance) to each input! It could not be easier.
  • If the Digital Input is activated once, the Function will begin.
  • If the Digital Input is activated again, the Function will be cancelled.
Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.52.09 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.52.12 AM.png



Digital Inputs in Programming Logic (Advanced):


Digital inputs are also available in programming logic for more advanced use. For example, if you wanted to keep a switch channel off indefinitely while a digital input activated (for example using a toggle switch or latching button), you can add the appropriate code to your programming logic.

One could add “AND Digital Input 1” to previous programming logic to turn it off while the digital input is activated.

Note that the switch channel must be set to programming logic for any of this to apply. It cannot be set as a generic device type (pump, etc).

The below image shows adding programming logic #8 with the digital input shutoff, by adding on "AND Digital Input 1" to the previous logic (#7).

Screen Shot 2020-11-05 at 10.58.32 AM.png

This is the switch box I made, using 2 latching toggle switches and two momentary buttons. The momentary buttons activate Feed Pause and Maintenance, and the latching ones are dedicated for my stand lighting and a manual override to shut off everything.

Note I wired it directly to the switches, avoiding the RJ45 breakout mentioned in the article.

IMG_7582.jpeg


Let me know if you have any questions, and if you think I should make more Profilux guides!
Do you happen to know what the current draw of the illuminated momentary switches is? Could you run 2 of them from the 10v (pin1) line? I searched but haven't really been able to find the draw of the illuminated part anywhere (all specs seem to refer to what the switch can handle)

Thanks
 

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

What's the first coral you ever bought?

  • An invasive soft coral

    Votes: 69 18.9%
  • Zoanthids

    Votes: 96 26.2%
  • Mushrooms

    Votes: 57 15.6%
  • Other Soft Coral

    Votes: 48 13.1%
  • LPS

    Votes: 77 21.0%
  • SPS

    Votes: 10 2.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 2.5%
PremiumAquatics.com
Top