Help! - beating Dinos?

Alexreefer

Coral, Coral, Coral!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Randy, I know you must be busy but I came for your advice. I have been fighting diatoms for 5 months now. I have tried everything, I have 0 tds rodi water(fresh filters). Tried chemiclean if it was cyano. I don't think its dinos(no bubbles) Have a UV sterilizer in place. I added sera siporax to combat my nitrates which I did effectively. Grows everywhere. Easily brushed off with a toothbrush, Grows back in little as 12 hours. When I leave it to grow it grows in mats. I can take some pictures and add them. What could be fueling this as I know they need silicates. Recently added some dry rock as well. Now I am dosing vibrant. And saw vivid aquariums video on how they added bakers yeast and the problem went away.

Thanks, Alex

Saintnovakai

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not Randy. Well not in the name sort of way but let me ask, what type of sand did you use? Is it brand new? What's the temp of your light? Just wondering if your sand is leeching silicates. In your case I'd run GFO. It's a known silicate sponge.

OP
OP
Alexreefer

Alexreefer

Coral, Coral, Coral!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not Randy. Well not in the name sort of way but let me ask, what type of sand did you use? Is it brand new? What's the temp of your light? Just wondering if your sand is leeching silicates. In your case I'd run GFO. It's a known silicate sponge.
I used caribsea indo pacific black sand. It is about 2 years old but did the sand rinse method 2 months ago I have two Ai prime hds running David Saxby's settings. I am not running gfo. What brand do you recommend?

Saintnovakai

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0