Help New Tank Looking For Suggestions

matthew.forsyth01

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So basically I'm brand new to this hobby so go easy on me sorry mods if this in the wrong thread

here's what happening I've setup my tank which I will list exact specs of what I have below as I'm reading on the internet everyone's saying I should start with high ammonia low nitrate and low nitrite but what's happened is I have high levels of all three ill also list the rough level of those below I use the API test kit that tests PH aswell but my ph. and salt levels are good I used API Quickstart and my LFS had some of his similar product made in house basically his saltwater with bacteria's in it I here's where I believe I went wrong first my lfs sold me 2 baby clown's told me to add these 24hrs after the Quickstart so I did I'm now reading this could have been bad but not tank ruining? I also purchased 2 live rocks and about 10 pounds of dry/dead rock its white and has some purple dead coral looking stuff on it. I also used regular tap water not filtered because I don't had a RODI system yet that is also a concern of mine. I have Ammolock and have dosed it once because the high ammonia scared me sorry if I'm all over the place trying to cover everything if you have any other questions ill do my best to answer within my ability

But my 2 baby clowns do see fairly healthy they roam around the tank eat when I feed them without hesitation ECT

My Tank Spec's
40 Gal Breeder Tank
Aqueon Quiet Flow 40
ViaAqua 200-Watt Quartz Glass Submersible Heater
Small Chinese 80gph Pump (For Circulation)
NICREW 36 Watt Light (Its Off Currently was told to keep it off during cycle)

My Tank Level's
PH: 8.1
AM: 8ppm
Nitrate: 40ppm
Nitrite: .3ppm
salinity: 1.025

image0.jpg

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used regular tap water not filtered because I don't had a RODI system yet that is also a concern of mine.