Help purchasing a microscope

bh750

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I have zero experience with scopes to identify things. But I'm thinking I need to get a scope. I've spent the last 10 years in the hobby dealing with one outbreak or another (GHA, Cyano, Dinos) to the points I've rarely enjoyed the hobby. So I'm thinking I really need to learn to identify things before I treat. And it can sounds fun!

I've been to the Amscope site but its sooooo overwhemling I have no idea how to choose. Only guidance I have is a post by @twilliard saying that 2500 magnification is probably the minimum.

Any recommendations on a reasonable scope that would allow me to look at specimens from my tank and post pictures for help with identification? Dont need a ton of bells and whistles but also hate to get one and then want a better one :) My budget is around $300-$400.

Thanks!

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
#reefsquad @Anirban could also help.

Anirban

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hi all,

I have zero experience with scopes to identify things. But I'm thinking I need to get a scope. I've spent the last 10 years in the hobby dealing with one outbreak or another (GHA, Cyano, Dinos) to the points I've rarely enjoyed the hobby. So I'm thinking I really need to learn to identify things before I treat. And it can sounds fun!

I've been to the Amscope site but its sooooo overwhemling I have no idea how to choose. Only guidance I have is a post by @twilliard saying that 2500 magnification is probably the minimum.

Any recommendations on a reasonable scope that would allow me to look at specimens from my tank and post pictures for help with identification? Dont need a ton of bells and whistles but also hate to get one and then want a better one :) My budget is around $300-$400.

Thanks!
Are you sure he mentioned X2500? Can you link me to the post? Whats your budget?