High Alk Consumption with very few corals.

HWDylan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a fairly large tank in the 350-400 gallon range. I am struggling to get my water parameters in line. I have been struggling to keep corals alive for a bit now. The tank has been up and running since January and I am still seeing almost no coraline algae. I have never worked with a tank this large before so excuse me if this is a normal occurrence but I am dosing 230ml of Cal and Alk a day to keep my DKH at 7.4. The only corals I have right now are a frag of Green Birds Nest, a very small chalice frag, and a frag of zoas. I cant see how this tank could be consuming this much Alk. I realize that a larger tank volume will have me dosing more 2-part (hence why people opt for Cal Reactors) but this seems crazy. I have looked everywhere in the sump and I cannot see anywhere where precipitation is building up so I dont think that is happening. I have seen that in the past and it was usually on heaters and such.

Some more info:
Auto Water Changes (35gal a week)
Alk: 7.4ish
Cal 420ppm
Mg: 1430ppm
pH: 8.3
No3: 25ish
Po4: 0.03

Any ideas?

Silent

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your tank is fairly new and usually the first year can be unstable. Check your new saltwater and make sure the alk and other parameters are at good levels from the start and if not dose them before adding to your tank. Or use a salt that is high in alk.

OP
OP
HWDylan

HWDylan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your tank is fairly new and usually the first year can be unstable. Check your new saltwater and make sure the alk and other parameters are at good levels from the start and if not dose them before adding to your tank. Or use a salt that is high in alk.