Hydros WaveEngine Users

Mar344

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
52
Reaction score
50
Hello everyone!
Working on a plan for a new tank and the Hydros WaveEngine seem too good to be true. I am planning on a ~230 gallon peninsula and want to start with 2x Maxspect 350 Gyres, one on each end. If needed I would add some MP40's or equivalent powerheads. I am curious to see who is using the WaveEngine and their opinions on them this far.

Thanks!
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Kyl

I see what you did there
View Badges
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
2,296
Reaction score
2,726
Location
Vancouver, Canada
I haven't really talked about it much but I have it running 2x XF230 gyres on my DT, and it will be running the XF350 & IC4K gyres on my new tank as well. I was originally going to run 2gyre 2 octopulse, but will keep my SW-4's and run them off the WE's 0-10v as well.

I like it, though I will be making up a control to shut pumps off via my profilux via a physical switch. The only knock I have against it, at this point, is the lack of a quick way to turn off other than pulling the power cord. If they released a "WE" remote button or something similar to turn off / turn feed mode, etc, I think it would be one of the best options on the market.
 
OP
M

Mar344

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
52
Reaction score
50
I haven't really talked about it much but I have it running 2x XF230 gyres on my DT, and it will be running the XF350 & IC4K gyres on my new tank as well. I was originally going to run 2gyre 2 octopulse, but will keep my SW-4's and run them off the WE's 0-10v as well.

I like it, though I will be making up a control to shut pumps off via my profilux via a physical switch. The only knock I have against it, at this point, is the lack of a quick way to turn off other than pulling the power cord. If they released a "WE" remote button or something similar to turn off / turn feed mode, etc, I think it would be one of the best options on the market.
Thanks for the info. Would you be able to turn the pumps off using an apex through the 0-10?
 

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
10,282
Reaction score
66,209
Location
Central Florida, USA
Thanks everyone for the reply's. Definitley confirmed putting the WaveEngine on the equipment list.
The WaveEngine is on my short list as well!
 

Big C

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 9, 2018
Messages
360
Reaction score
590
Location
Northwest Indiana
Use it for two Gyre 250s and hopefully my Octopus Skimmer in the future.

I have it wired to the Apex and shut off for feeding and maintenance. You can manually override if you need to shutdown, slow or speed up each pump if needed.

Really like not needing all the power bricks.

4CD8A478-AA99-4006-977A-5913D6DDC60B.jpeg
 

Berlibee

Alexey | ReefHacks.com
View Badges
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
1,760
Reaction score
2,565
Location
USA
I've just received my order. Waveengine + two Gyres pumps as well. I do have also two MP10s from my previous tank that I want to connect also. I think it's a fantastic piece of the equipment. I can't wait to try it, still waiting on the tank. But I'm sure I will try it soon.
 

Markk96

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
36
Reaction score
63
I have had the Wave Engine for 3 months now. Run one Gyre 330 and one Grye 350 in a wave pattern. I also have it controlling my return pump which is a Varios 4. It is nice to get rid of all the control boxes and cords. I have not had one single issue with it, so if you have any questions just ask.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

JerSaint

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
812
Location
Mystic, CT
I am currently running the Wave Engine on my 265G display. I have Gyre 3K’s mounted in between my 3 overflow boxes. I love that I was able to loose two bricks from my wire management mess and go directly into the WE. Corals are responding very well to the SPS Reef preset and I recently added in a Nutrient Export preset one the middle of the night. I am going to be doubling down on gyres and adding 2 of the 4k’s to my system. Added bonus with wave engine you can purchase the pump only without the controller and save quite a few bucks! I am a huge fan of the wave engine and the support offered if you have questions is world class!
 

[email protected]

One minute of patience, ten years of peace.
View Badges
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
3,143
Location
California
Use it for two Gyre 250s and hopefully my Octopus Skimmer in the future.

I have it wired to the Apex and shut off for feeding and maintenance. You can manually override if you need to shutdown, slow or speed up each pump if needed.

Really like not needing all the power bricks.

4CD8A478-AA99-4006-977A-5913D6DDC60B.jpeg
I've just received my order. Waveengine + two Gyres pumps as well. I do have also two MP10s from my previous tank that I want to connect also. I think it's a fantastic piece of the equipment. I can't wait to try it, still waiting on the tank. But I'm sure I will try it soon.
I have had the Wave Engine for 3 months now. Run one Gyre 330 and one Grye 350 in a wave pattern. I also have it controlling my return pump which is a Varios 4. It is nice to get rid of all the control boxes and cords. I have not had one single issue with it, so if you have any questions just ask.
inbound3332100980916898210.jpg


Absolutely love my Wave Engine. One of my favorite pieces of equipment!
This is awesome! Thanks for chiming in, dudes!
 
Mega Meltdown After Sale

TheHarold

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
4,647
Reaction score
7,521
I like it, though I will be making up a control to shut pumps off via my profilux via a physical switch. The only knock I have against it, at this point, is the lack of a quick way to turn off other than pulling the power cord. If they released a "WE" remote button or something similar to turn off / turn feed mode, etc, I think it would be one of the best options on the market.
The 0-10v input can absolutely be used in that fashion, with or without a controller. With just 1 of the 4 inputs, you can make a housing with a bunch of buttons to control several different modes. I recently made one for the IceCap Hydros dual pump controller, with a simple 9v battery to apply voltage. (Utilize resistors to obtain multiple voltages from 1 battery, for multiple buttons).

 

[email protected]

One minute of patience, ten years of peace.
View Badges
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
3,143
Location
California
I haven't really talked about it much but I have it running 2x XF230 gyres on my DT, and it will be running the XF350 & IC4K gyres on my new tank as well. I was originally going to run 2gyre 2 octopulse, but will keep my SW-4's and run them off the WE's 0-10v as well.

I like it, though I will be making up a control to shut pumps off via my profilux via a physical switch. The only knock I have against it, at this point, is the lack of a quick way to turn off other than pulling the power cord. If they released a "WE" remote button or something similar to turn off / turn feed mode, etc, I think it would be one of the best options on the market.
The 0-10v input can absolutely be used in that fashion, without a controller. With just 1 of the 4 inputs, you can make a housing with a bunch of buttons to control several different modes. I recently made one for the IceCap Hydros dual pump controller, with a simple 9v battery to apply voltage. (Utilize resistors to obtain multiple voltages from 1 battery, for multiple buttons).

I think the WaveEngine's 0-10V has power, too, so a battery wouldn't necessarily be required. I could be wrong! Don't hold me to this.

@Kyl Please don't hesitate to contact the @TheHarold if you would like him to make a physical button (or buttons?) for you. He's a good dude!
 

TheHarold

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
4,647
Reaction score
7,521
I think the WaveEngine's 0-10V has power, too, so a battery wouldn't necessarily be required. I could be wrong! Don't hold me to this.
You're definitely right! Forgot about that part. No battery!!

Can get 1v, 2v, 3v, 4v, 5v (Or smaller intervals) etc just using resistors and that 5v.

Just ordered the WaveEngine to apex cable from you guys, so I can reverse engineer that port (I know the apex pinout) and see what I can come up with :D.
 
Last edited:

Big C

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 9, 2018
Messages
360
Reaction score
590
Location
Northwest Indiana
Yes. You can set an incoming 0-10v signal to trigger "events/modes" for lack of a better word.
This is one of the features I like. I have several different events (different voltages) from my Apex back the the WaveEngine. All I have to do is press the correct Feed Mode on my Apex and the WaveEngine does it’s thing.

Now if I could run my skimmer off the WaveEngine and eliminate another brick and controller....
 

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
10,282
Reaction score
66,209
Location
Central Florida, USA
This is one of the features I like. I have several different events (different voltages) from my Apex back the the WaveEngine. All I have to do is press the correct Feed Mode on my Apex and the WaveEngine does it’s thing.

Now if I could run my skimmer off the WaveEngine and eliminate another brick and controller....
Most, if not all of the #reefoctopus Regal and Elite skimmers will run off from the #WaveEngine. What skimmer do you currently have?
 

Is your current reef tank the BEST reef aquarium you've ever had?

  • Yes

    Votes: 202 68.7%
  • No

    Votes: 67 22.8%
  • It's a tie

    Votes: 11 3.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 14 4.8%

Online statistics

Members online
2,368
Guests online
5,025
Total visitors
7,393
Top