Important/ needed probes

drtrash

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New apex installed, awesome unit some will say i am underutilizing it, would agree i wanted a simple system and sure the function priority may change, currently only using temp probe, yep i know i paid for all but if I'm not going to make decisions on data then it has limited value. Just trying to learn about how then are used to make a decision on keeping or pass on to fellow reefers. Not using doser, tunze ato.

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you asking a specific question, like if this is enough? or just expressing your opinion that this should be enough.
None the less,. I agree with you :)

OP
OP
drtrash

drtrash

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to apex, but dont see the value of all these probes, generation data that has limited value. I understand i have alot to learn od capabilites so my question would be what am i missing and do you use probe data for?

n2585722

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What probes do you have other than temp? It is OK to start out slowly with a controller. Temp is a good start. Even if you don't use the other probes to control anything they can help to give you an idea if things have changed. This will requires using them and gaining some history of the normal values in your tank over time.

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Temperature is most important as heater failure is one or most frequently failed equipment , causing tank crashes . Temp sensor is required for detecting such failure and preventing it.

water level sensor (such as optical or float switches ) are second most critical sensor (won’t call them probe) for maintaining salinity