Issue with the G5 firmware update?

Reef370

Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
75
Reaction score
82
Location
Virginia Beach
The new update worked, everything is running flawlessly right now.. Thank you Ecotech for being on it during a pandemic!!!
 
OP
zoomonster

zoomonster

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
755
Reaction score
561
Location
Central Florida
Yes after I did the second firmware update everything seems to be doing much better. Have not noticed any lights out of sync nor have I had to cycle power. Now hopefully they will get on with making mobius a bit more usable and enabling wifi. The standing next to the tank phone only Bluetooth control is well past getting old. Really don't like not having any remote control of the lights.
 

Ruinsedge

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
13
Yes after I did the second firmware update everything seems to be doing much better. Have not noticed any lights out of sync nor have I had to cycle power. Now hopefully they will get on with making mobius a bit more usable and enabling wifi. The standing next to the tank phone only Bluetooth control is well past getting old. Really don't like not having any remote control of the lights.
Not sure how it is on iPhone but if my phone screen shuts off during a firmware update the update fails. I gotta keep tapping my screen and not walk away from the tank until it's done so it doesn't fail. I'm happy with the light itself now, but 30% happy on how I control it. It works, but it's tedious, annoying, clumsy, and lack of remote access via WiFi.

Plus is there a frigging light off button at all? I could just be dumb. I don't mean kill power just go to 0% intensity. I have a hinged canopy so when I open the canopy the lights shoot right at my face. So I get blinded trying to get to the fixtures button, or I can just pull the power which I don't want to stop the fans if the lights are hot, or go through the tedious Mobius "light > edit > intensity > slide to 0% > save > back > resume schedule". Then the reverse to put it back to my desired intensity. An "off toggle" would be much more useful than disco light mode and the other things on the home screen.

Still fine with my purchase here, but now my biggest annoyance is just turning the thing down to open my canopy. On my Apex I just hit the virtual socket switch to off on my old lights and they went dark but still powered for fans. I always planned to hook a magnet switch to my canopy to automate it with my Apex in the past but lost a light and upgraded.

Well upgraded my light. Downgraded my control.
 
Last edited:

Sisterlimonpot

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,401
Reaction score
3,556
Location
Litchfield Park
Not sure how it is on iPhone but if my phone screen shuts off during a firmware update the update fails. I gotta keep tapping my screen and not walk away from the tank until it's done so it doesn't fail. I'm happy with the light itself now, but 30% happy on how I control it. It works, but it's tedious, annoying, clumsy, and lack of remote access via WiFi.

Plus is there a frigging light off button at all? I could just be dumb. I don't mean kill power just go to 0% intensity. I have a hinged canopy so when I open the canopy the lights shoot right at my face. So I get blinded trying to get to the fixtures button, or I can just pull the power which I don't want to stop the fans if the lights are hot, or go through the tedious Mobius "light > edit > intensity > slide to 0% > save > back > resume schedule". Then the reverse to put it back to my desired intensity. An "off toggle" would be much more useful than disco light mode and the other things on the home screen.

Still fine with my purchase here, but now my biggest annoyance is just turning the thing down to open my canopy. On my Apex I just hit the virtual socket switch to off on my old lights and they went dark but still powered for fans. I always planned to hook a magnet switch to my canopy to automate it with my Apex in the past but lost a light and upgraded.

Well upgraded my light. Downgraded my control.
Sounds like you haven't ventured into the "scene" portion of mobius. A scene is a lot like a virtual outlet or in your case with lights could be achieved with one of the feed buttons on apex.

You can go in and create a scene to temporarily set your lights to whatever spectrum and intensity for the amount of time you choose. It's fairly intuitive but I did come across a video that ecotech put out for creating a scene.

At this time, using a reed switch to trigger that scene isn't possible.

And as far as having your phone screen stay awake during updates, you can go into your phone setting to set a longer duration.
 

Bob Weigant

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 12, 2018
Messages
1,509
Reaction score
5,369
Location
Hayward CA
I was starting to second guess myself. I sold off everything and I am able to get back into the hobby. Had G4 pros and just ordered the G5 Blues. Fingers crossed
 

Ruinsedge

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
13
I was starting to second guess myself. I sold off everything and I am able to get back into the hobby. Had G4 pros and just ordered the G5 Blues. Fingers crossed
Don't sweat, they are great lights. The controls are all there that you need. They are just all still being fine tuned and polished.

Sounds like you haven't ventured into the "scene" portion of mobius. A scene is a lot like a virtual outlet or in your case with lights could be achieved with one of the feed buttons on apex.

You can go in and create a scene to temporarily set your lights to whatever spectrum and intensity for the amount of time you choose. It's fairly intuitive but I did come across a video that ecotech put out for creating a scene.

At this time, using a reed switch to trigger that scene isn't possible.

And as far as having your phone screen stay awake during updates, you can go into your phone setting to set a longer duration.
I'll give it a shot. Just assumed there was something I was missing since people do turn their lights off frequently for maintenance.

Also yeah I could set my phone screen to stay on and leave my phone on the tank stand to update. But that's a setting I'd have to change every update. Ain't killing battery for a random firmware update. Just nitpicky complaints for now. Besides wifi and remote access. That's my only big gripe haha.
 

((FORDTECH))

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
621
Reaction score
336
Don't sweat, they are great lights. The controls are all there that you need. They are just all still being fine tuned and polished.



I'll give it a shot. Just assumed there was something I was missing since people do turn their lights off frequently for maintenance.

Also yeah I could set my phone screen to stay on and leave my phone on the tank stand to update. But that's a setting I'd have to change every update. Ain't killing battery for a random firmware update. Just nitpicky complaints for now. Besides wifi and remote access. That's my only big gripe haha.
You know what you still have after you polish a turd right? I’m joking I love my G5’s :D
 

Ruinsedge

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
13
You know what you still have after you polish a turd right? I’m joking I love my G5’s :D
Haha mythbusters actually polished up turds before. Craziness. Took forever but was doable.

Yeah it's been a rough ride so far until these hit their full potential. But as early adopters this is the stuff we deal with to help the future buyers.
 

((FORDTECH))

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
621
Reaction score
336
Haha mythbusters actually polished up turds before. Craziness. Took forever but was doable.

Yeah it's been a rough ride so far until these hit their full potential. But as early adopters this is the stuff we deal with to help the future buyers.
I just hope Longevity of the product will be there for us. It has been a very rocky start for these lights but all seems to be good now. I’m on my 3rd 30 day acclimation tho cause I can’t stop buying corals from these online sales I can’t wait to see there full potential
 

Ruinsedge

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
13
I just hope Longevity of the product will be there for us. It has been a very rocky start for these lights but all seems to be good now. I’m on my 3rd 30 day acclimation tho cause I can’t stop buying corals from these online sales I can’t wait to see there full potential
I see it lasting as long as any other generation. Granted I think it launched a little prematurely. I can't believe that schedule bug made it through to end users. Can't wait till Mobius is wifi with web interface and I'll be smitten.
 

denverjon

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
358
Reaction score
33
Location
denver
It's been helpful to read everyone's feedback. I've been thinking of buying two Gen 5 xr30's so would you suggest waiting a couple months just to make sure all the kinks are worked out or should I pull the trigger now?
 

Ruinsedge

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
13
It's been helpful to read everyone's feedback. I've been thinking of buying two Gen 5 xr30's so would you suggest waiting a couple months just to make sure all the kinks are worked out or should I pull the trigger now?
Good to buy. Only thing right now is you have to be standing at your tank to adjust the lights via your phone. If that doesn't bother you no need to wait.
 

How do you run activated carbon on your reef tank?

  • Reactor

    Votes: 12 30.8%
  • Filter Sock

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Mesh Bag

    Votes: 19 48.7%
  • Other (please explain in the thread)

    Votes: 1 2.6%
  • I don't run Carbon

    Votes: 7 17.9%

Online statistics

Members online
1,194
Guests online
2,921
Total visitors
4,115
Top