KH Guardian: Automatic Alkalinity Controller- My Experiences

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by Rick.45cal, Feb 3, 2017.

  1. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    So I reached out to the owner/maker and got a list of parts that should be replaced yearly to keep it going like it should
    I can say mine is still kicking as good as the first day if you want I can give you a list it was like 57 dollars of parts and motors (not including a ph probe) directly from dr bridge himself
     
    HolisticBear likes this.

  2. ReefTeacher

    ReefTeacher Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Justin,

    I think this would be helpful for all of us if you could post.

    thanks!
     
  3. lnevo

    lnevo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I completely get that. I'm pretty sure the issue here is the probe. I've had probes die quick, even lab grade neptune probes. Dr. Bridge's recommendation is to have them cycled every 6 months and return the unused probe to the storage solution. This supposedly extends the lifecycle of the probe. At the same time, have you upgraded your firmware to the 9.003? This version disables the probe every 5 tests which supposedly helps extend the lifecycle also.

    Usual maintenance also includes re-calibrating the ph probe on a regular basis (i forget if the suggested is every 3 months or 6 months). You can try re calibrating this probe to see if it brings you back to normal and then see how long that lasts. It will help confirm if the probe is the problem.
     
  4. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    Switch out probe every six months instead of calibrating and these are the parts image.jpg
     
    yellojello and Rick.45cal like this.
  5. jjoos99

    jjoos99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    How can I delete all the recorded tests from the previous owner? Would like to start this with a clean slate. I would like to have the time between test to be longer then every 4 hours. I am just going to use this as a monitor for now so 2 or 3 tests a day would be plenty and I’m all for not spending $15 or so a month in reagent.
    Anyone have a link to a doser in case I would ever want to use this as a controller or is that possible with the monitor version?
    Thanks
    Jeff
     
  6. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    Eng mode enabled then go to system settings then clear as card
     
  7. jjoos99

    jjoos99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    Thanks for all the help guys. I screwed up big time today. I received all my updated parts and went to adjust the voltage output and must have shorted something out, saw the dreaded magic smoke and unit is now dead. Depending on the cost or repair of a new board (if even available) it might not be worth fixing.
    Jeff
     
  8. Dan Snyder

    Dan Snyder Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sunrise
    That’s exactly why I wouldn’t never take mine apart! Once trident drops, I will have one is these monitors for sale :))
     
  9. lnevo

    lnevo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I don't think the motherboard is that expensive to replace. IIIRC around $30. Sorry to hear that happened. The good news is that you can get the controller motherboard which will allow you to get the CCM which controls a calcium reactor, but if you're dosing you would need to use a neptune or something else to control the dosing pump.
     
  10. ReefTeacher

    ReefTeacher Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Sorry about that jjoos, I have wondered about how delicate the innards are; I guess I have been luck so far.

    Reach out to David on the Facebook page. He is very good about helping customers out....the KHG is his baby.
     
  11. jjoos99

    jjoos99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    That is great news. I was afraid I would be out another $100+. I am assuming I would buy it from Dr. Bridge? I do run a ca reactor so maybe in the long run this is a plus. Do you know if it is sold out right or I will have to send back the old one? Ive been bummed all day. I hate it when I think I am doing good but it comes back to bite me in the rear!! One thing I have to give the kh guardian and Dr Bridge credit for is that the price of replacement parts are VERY reasonable.
    thanks
    Jeff
     
  12. jjoos99

    jjoos99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    It really wasnt that bad taking apart at all. I was just stupid and while testing the voltage output I accidentally touched the positive and negative leads together and produced that magical smoke;Nailbiting
    Jeff
     
  13. ca1ore

    ca1ore Valuable Member R2R Supporter CTARS Member R2R Excellence Award R2R TV Featured Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,892
    Likes Received:
    8,737
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Whether KHG or one of the other boxes, I think it probably wise to use it as a monitoring/alerting devic only.
     
  14. codydemmel4

    codydemmel4 Valuable Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Location:
    Allentown PA
    My KHG was very stable for the first month or so, now it is jumping all over the place in test values when I test it each time with a salifert it is always around 8

    03/04 09:23:20 Force reverse calibration to 8.2 dKH
    03/04 11:46:16 W.139 %0 AK. 0.00 KH :8.86
    03/04 14:02:51 W.137 %0 OFF.110 KH :9.26
    03/04 15:56:52 W.141 %0 OFF.110 KH :9.46
    03/04 18:18:47 W.138 %0 AK. 0.00 KH :8.15
    03/04 20:33:56 W.140 %0 OFF.110 KH :8.26
    03/04 22:47:16 W.137 %0 OFF.110 KH :8.35
    03/05 01:00:48 W.136 %0 OFF.110 KH :8.25
    03/05 03:14:48 W.140 %0 OFF.110 KH :8.66
    03/05 05:28:41 W.142 %0 OFF.110 KH :8.34
    03/05 07:51:44 W.137 %0 AK. 0.00 KH :9.15
    03/05 10:18:34 W.131 %0 OFF.110 KH :9.60
    03/05 12:24:55 W.137 %0 OFF.110 KH :9.59
     
  15. jjoos99

    jjoos99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Yellow Springs Ohio
    I had to send the board to Taiwan for repair. Repair was only $40 and $7.50 return shipping. I mailed out on a monday and got an email from David the following wed that it was fixed and ready to be shipped back. These guys have great service.
    If anyone is interested in adding wireless to their gaurdian check out this link. worked perfectly for me and was able to power it right up off the guardian.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/VAP11G-Bri...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
    Jeff
     
  16. silverarrow

    silverarrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    usa
    Just ordered a new probe from Coralvue to replaced the plastic blue probe that came with my KH monitor. However, the probe they sent me is a black probe. Are these black probes replacing the old blue probes?

    06D794AE-2915-420F-AFC8-DFF1FE184AB9.jpeg
     
  17. lnevo

    lnevo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Pretty sure that’s the wrong one...
     
  18. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    Wrong one but works just have to find the sweet spot
     
    silverarrow likes this.
  19. silverarrow

    silverarrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    usa
    Thanks - I contacted Coralvue and Carlos sent me an image showing the correct positioning for the black plastic probe.
     
  20. LobsterOfJustice

    LobsterOfJustice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    844
    Location:
    NC
    Interesting they’re sending out that probe now, they sent me two in a row that were glass with a black top that both failed in about 6 weeks, I’m still trying to get Carlos to refund me for the $100 I paid but wants me to send in my unit (again)... I’ve just been using the probe that came with my apexEL now.

    EDIT: I see you have the monitor not the controller, which came with a plastic probe in the first place, hope you have better luck with that probe then I had with mine. I do not like that CV is shipping replacement probes/parts that are not OEM/ same as originally came with the unit as designed.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page