Lighting help

NeilG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,
So I currently have 230ltr (50 gallon) tropical setup, and want to convert this into a reef tank.
I am abit stuck on what lights to get, I went to my LFS and they recommended,
tmc ilumenair
Reef factory reef flare
Ai hydra and Ai prime.

Is there any of these you guys would recommend or have any other suggestions you recommend.

Not sure if it matters or where the majority of you guys are from, but I'm from England if it makes any difference.

Thanks

DanyL

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't touch AI products, poor quality, mediocre products and inflated prices. It's no more than a popular brand taking advantage of their customers - look it up.
Reef Flare is nice, although it turns out the advertised spectrum doesn't match the actual spec.
I have no experience or information to share about the TMC.

I highly recommend you to look for telegraham's lightning tests over at humble fish forum, he has great and unbiased reviews of a lot of fixtures, both known and less known.

Personally I would recommend you to check ReeFi Uno 2.0 Pro, it's one of the best lights in the market today and is priced very reasonably compared to the others while also delivering much more.

Good Luck!

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Chinese black boxes if cost is a factor.
Viparspectra 165w or Nicrew 150w, I use both, 5 years now.
Grow anything.
But there’s just white and blue channel so no Wifi App stuff with tons of control.
Corals don’t care which really, provided, it is constant and unchanging, day in day out.

OP
OP
N

NeilG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks guys, I will take a look at these.
I wouldn't say cost is a factor but if I don't need to spend alot then I'd rather not,

How do you control the white and blue with WiFi/Bluetooth, do you just change it manual at a certain time

Dom