Linking new 2016 Apex to Previous Model "Brain" - probe access?

Neptune

Biologic

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
172
Reaction score
115
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
USA
Hey Guys,

Can I hook a previous model Apex brain (where the probes are) to my new 2016 system? Could I pick up a used older system and be able to access all the probes and ports through Apex Fusion?
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
3,877
Reaction score
8,395
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Oregon
No, you cannot connect multiple Apex head units together. You can run each one independently but both linked to your Fusion account, then toggle between each Apex dashboard in Fusion, but they cannot read each other's probes.
 

Sisterlimonpot

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
2,181
Reaction score
5,086
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Litchfield Park
I don't understand the question. It sounds like you want to connect an apex classic to a 2016 apex. If so, what for?

Or maybe you had your apex 2016 go bad and want to place an apex classic in its place.

Please clarify.
 
OP
Biologic

Biologic

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
172
Reaction score
115
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
USA
I don't understand the question. It sounds like you want to connect an apex classic to a 2016 apex. If so, what for?

Or maybe you had your apex 2016 go bad and want to place an apex classic in its place.

Please clarify.

i just had the opportunity to pick up an old head unit for super cheap. So I was going use it in a saltwater mixing station.

@SuncrestReef would it then be better pick up an old school EB4 and use modules? I could control my temperature, DOS, and pumps in a saltwater mixing room.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
3,877
Reaction score
8,395
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Oregon
i just had the opportunity to pick up an old head unit for super cheap. So I was going use it in a saltwater mixing station.

@SuncrestReef would it then be better pick up an old school EB4 and use modules? I could control my temperature, DOS, and pumps in a saltwater mixing room.

There's really no "better" or "worse". If you just want to use a cheap older model Apex for the mixing station, you can do that. But in Fusion you will need to toggle between your main Apex and your mixing station Apex. They cannot be displayed on the same dashboard at the same time.

If you choose to just add remote modules with your main Apex, then everything would be on a single dashboard in Fusion.
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
Biologic

Biologic

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
172
Reaction score
115
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
USA
There's really no "better" or "worse". If you just want to use a cheap older model Apex for the mixing station, you can do that. But in Fusion you will need to toggle between your main Apex and your mixing station Apex. They cannot be displayed on the same dashboard at the same time.

If you choose to just add remote modules with your main Apex, then everything would be on a single dashboard in Fusion.

Thank you, that makes total sense. Getting the hang of my Apex!
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
3,877
Reaction score
8,395
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Oregon
OP
Biologic

Biologic

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
172
Reaction score
115
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
USA
If you're new to the Apex, be sure to read my Apex programming tutorial articles: https://www.reef2reef.com/ams/authors/suncrestreef.93940/

I actually have! Thank you for posting it. I am playing around with virtual outlets right now. I really enjoyed your moonlight hack using your main light. I posted a DIY ATK thread on the Apex forum. I’d like to hear your thoughts.

I’ll probably post it here. I am currently not using it. I borrowed a broken ATK (bad sensors, cracked threads) from my LFS.

Mini ATK (DIY)

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/to...read.php?t=29942&share_type=t&link_source=app
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/to...read.php?t=29942&share_type=t&link_source=app
 

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

Neptune

What's the first coral you ever bought?

  • An invasive soft coral

    Votes: 69 18.1%
  • Zoanthids

    Votes: 100 26.2%
  • Mushrooms

    Votes: 59 15.4%
  • Other Soft Coral

    Votes: 50 13.1%
  • LPS

    Votes: 85 22.3%
  • SPS

    Votes: 10 2.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 2.4%
Aquatic Life TDS Pen Offer
Top